December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bugged Bot

by Space_man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a robot. Unfortunately, because you were built and programmed in only 48 hours, you were not able to be fully tested and some of your functionality may fail after only a single use. But don't worry! It appears that you will be able to move right as much as you want.

Controls and how your abilities work are explained in game.
I had a lot of fun making this and the concept seems fun, so I may try and update with some more post-compo levels in the future.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Theme3.79
#167Innovation3.46
#173Humor3.14
#324Fun3.13
#366Overall3.17
#447Mood2.84
#504Graphics2.92
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Wow this was good, I see you went to a bit of effort.

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Haha! That was fun, and I liked the humor of the writing. Followed the theme well. Is a little buggy here and there, but aren't most of the games made here? Well done!

Photon says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:13am

I actually thought this was a pretty good concept! Unfortunately, there's only two levels. :(

Ah well. Nice while it lasted.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:14am

I like the use of the theme, it could have some great puzzle levels

flatgub says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:44am

Interesting use of theme! Nice graphics too =3
-Flatgub

danbo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:41am

A little rough around the edges, but I like the concept. I thought it crashed at the end of the second level, but I suppose that was just it closing?

Cezel_ says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:02am

Great use of the theme, it was relly fun to play :)

jongtao says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:32am

I like the concept and the humor. The humor is a big part of what makes this game fun.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:39am

Brilliant and unique effort :D I know time is always an issue, but it would've been great it it were a bit longer. Also I loved the crawling animation

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Very good attempt, giving the player only one attempt at an ability felt very sokoban to me, this is a very good twist on that concept. Nicely done!

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Great little game, love the use of theme as you can only use each ability once. Think our robot friend looks amazing. as well as the on screen propts. Love that there is more than one way to get through the level. All around amazing game, just wish there was more.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:37am

very cute idea and fun

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:37am

Neat concept. Looks like there could be a lot of puzzles you could make.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:50pm

I loved it, found it quite similar to my game, except yours had animations and a cooler art style. Haha. Well done! :D

Alex Rose says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:28pm

There's something very Commander Keeny to this game. Really cool use of the theme, being able to use each ability only once. You should definitely expand on this if you get the time. Great idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]