December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aquila

by Anshul Goyal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aquila (also known as a constellation in the northern sky) is a top down arcade game. You play as an ancient soul who is trying to escape from the ruins. The level is generated dynamically as the player moves from tile-to-tile. I think may be I can call this "Procedural Generation", as there is no randomness involved. The goal of the game is to reach the end tile while avoiding or killing enemies. You can also collect some ancient artifacts as an added bonus by destroying the ruins.

The game fits (I hope so) the theme in the following two ways:
1) Enemy bullets can also destroy the ruins. In that case artifacts wont be revealed. So you have only one chance.
2) Since the level is dynamically generated, so you only get one "unique" level per play session.

Tools used:
- Unity3d
- Pixen

Controls:
- WASD (Arrow Keys) to Move and Left-Click to Shoot.

Feel free to tweet the generated level to me @goyalanshul. I'll be extremely happy to see those!!
All feedback is welcome. Thanks for playing!!!

PS: I couldn't manage to find enough time to do the sounds. I used the free sounds from sounddogs.com. Sorry about that!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#356Innovation3.11
#483Mood2.78
#492Audio2.53
#591Fun2.73
#669Overall2.80
#727Humor1.71
#737Graphics2.44
#939Theme1.91

Comments

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42am

I really love the way the level is formed as you play and the snapshot of your final layout at the end is brilliant.
The only thing I was a bit unsure of was the combat and I never found any relics..?

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31am

I really liked playing this. It was like a long-range Bomberman game set in the Tomb Raider universe. I thought this game did a lot of things well. Nicely done.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

The end game pull out was a nice touch. I feel the game could have used more explanation over what the goal was.

GrinCreative says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33am

Loved it!!!
Have to say:
What relics are to?
Its too easy! I made it directly to the end, but, if the difficulty isn't growing up, meh

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33am

I thought the concept was really interesting. I enjoyed how the level built itself and then showed it to you at the end. I didn't feel a sense of progression, however, which could really be improved. I would like to see this idea fleshed out more!

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35am

A slow dungeon-crawl, creeping through the darkness.

I found 17/17 artifacts and scored 3350 points.

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36am

This had a old school Diablo feel, exploring a generated level. The music is also well done. I managed to find 17 relics the first play through before ever finding the exit - the joys of rng!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31am

Tile based generation was great and I love the zoom out at the end to reveal the full path. I would like to see this game taken further, seems like a nice start!

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50am

Eerie little game. Like the moving tiles. Sound was good too heh.

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55am

@Hypermagical: you are the star. well done!

About the relics: currently the more buildings/ruins you destroy the greater will be the probability for the relics to appear. The probability also changes dynamically as you keep destroying those buildings/ruins.

Thanks a lot for playing!!

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39am

I rather enjoyed it, though I got really confused towards the end.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:43am

Didn't quite get what was going on, but finished it. Shooting mechanic wasn't particularly satisfying, but overall it was solid.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:56am

Loved it !! I had a lot of fun, congratulations.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:31am

Level generation is nice, audio and graphics are a bit lacking in conviction.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:14am

The tiles popping in as you wander around the map was a wonderful effect. The major thing that made the game somewhat difficult to tolerate after a certain amount of time is that there isn't a point of reference or any environmental distinctions after a while. Nothing really separates one area from another aside from the way the tiles spawn in.

I enjoyed the game in a weird way though, wandering around blasting everything I saw was satisfying for a few moments but grows old after a while. Especially when the exit is nowhere to be seen.

Overall it wasn't a bad game but I felt like I didn't have a lot of purpose for doing anything I was doing, aside from, you know, points and stuff. And points and stuff can only carry a game so far without growing dull.

tchem says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:01am

I like of mechanic and visuals of game. Nice level generator.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:20am

Wow, this really makes fun! I beat the level on the first try, so maybe it's a little bit too easy. But it's still enjoyable. Music is nice and fits with the graphics which are okay.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:20am

Wow, this really makes fun! I beat the level on the first try, so maybe it's a little bit too easy. But it's still enjoyable. Music is nice and fits with the graphics which are okay. The procedural aspect of the levelgenerator is also nice :)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:26am

I got all the relics but nothing seemed to happen? I ran around and unlocked most of the map but still nothing... at least it was fun and engaging enough to keep me unlocking tiles.

henrykun says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:44am

The way the level is constructed is similar to Bastion, very nice idea. I like the concept of the game too, good job.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Great concept, but the audio quickly gets onto the nerves. Love the map !

Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Fun game, love the map I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to have a look :) http://youtu.be/fAaMjCotTMM

celsyum says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:35pm

great concept , need better graphics

Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Fun game play also interesting idea! :D Great work, loving the feeling of destroying those things with particles and the awesome sound effects :D

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I actually really like the feel of the game, and the adio is really good, but I think it was a bit too easy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]