December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1 Shot Armada

by aneeslol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A shmup game where you have a variety of super-powerful weapons...however, you only get to use each weapon once! Survive as long as possible with your limited offensive capabilities.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#86Theme3.70
#231Audio3.04
#245Fun3.26
#261Overall3.30
#307Mood3.06
#366Graphics3.18
#427Innovation3.00

Comments

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

nice idea! I liked the brightness, colors felt good, decent audio too

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:11am

Great music! Really works with the game.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41am

Very cool game. I love SHMUPS. Nice music, lots of different enemies.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42am

Pretty game. I wish there was an indicator for the weapon reset line, although it was easy enough to hide out at the top of the screen once my weapons ran dry. :) Good work.

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42am

Took me back to Galaga. Well done!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42am

Fun game! Definitely needs a boss, and changing the control scheme should probably be a bit farther away from your primary control buttons. Otherwise, great job.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43am

This is really well rounded. It would have been nice to get kicked back into movement mode after selecting a weapon, but other than that high marks for all the things.

Nessic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

fun! but if you fly to the top of the screen, no enemys can touch you.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Great music and graphics.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Good take on the theme. Plays and sounds fine.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:27am

I loved the graphics and sound for this. Some shots seemed far better than others, and the difficulty kindof petered off there, but otherwise a solid idea.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20am

Very nice game. The gameplay is a bit repetitive but the graphics are awesome.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43am

Fantastic little gem here! Once I became familiar with all the weapon types, there was a bit more strategy to choosing. Nice level of polish too. Well done!

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Really nice overall! I love all those different weapons! It also felt balanced (ignoring the top of screen escape).

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Not sure how to trigger each type, but overall I enjoyed it!

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23am

Good game! The enemy bullet pattern has one fatal flaw, though...

garygreen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:33pm

For some reason I couldn't get the weapons to shoot when I was using the WSAD controls - is it only the number keys on the number pad that will work with the WSAD keys?

aneeslol says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:22am

Yes, you need to use the numpad if you're using WASD. You also need to have num lock on as well.

TheSnide says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:52am

Nifty use of the theme. And I love SHMUPs :)

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Good job with the theme.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I had trouble with the controls but also really liked this game. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I would've liked this a lot more had it been double-zoom, I think. Your graphics weren't bad but they were so small I couldn't appreciate them. I found the audio unimpressive, but I'm glad it was present, at least! :)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great game, well done, I love it!

p.s. music does not play in Iceweasel ("Content-Type" of "audio/mpeg" is not supported), as I do not have that proprietary decoder, the ogg format will cover more users.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]