December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Battle of Infinite Birds

by thegoofromspace - Jam Entry

It's meant to be played from the page, so just click the Web link to go there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Theme(Jam)4.09
#77Innovation(Jam)3.45
#192Fun(Jam)3.09
#239Overall(Jam)3.14
#351Audio(Jam)2.55
#351Graphics(Jam)2.91
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41am

It's pretty neat. It reminds me of robotron. I like how it's really simple and easy to control with just your mouse.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03am

I really liked the simple audio and graphics. It was pretty fun!

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:42am

I really like how the birds start as squares and get built up as they spawn. Great use of theme as well!

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44am

The mechanic of traveling in the same direction you shoot forces you to always be aggressive. You can't just back off and fire and avoid enemies. You really have to go headlong into them!

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39am

I like the concept, but the controls (sluggish movement, shot direction) make it somewhat hard to enjoy your game :/

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07pm

It's fun!!!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Great stuff -- did something similar w/ only one bit of ammo & having to recollect. It's great to see it working somewhere else as well :)

Katamori says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Great concept, decent implementation. I liked it anyway.

Lafolie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:18am

This would be much more fun with more responsive controls. Neat idea.

adamwfindlay says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Nice idea and use of the theme! Controls could do to be snappier and more responsive.

larb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Weird controls make it hard, but I guess it would just be too easy otherwise. It's actually kind of fun trying to work it.

Really cool game. I like the simple graphics and audio. It's pretty fun.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:42am

Neat game! I like the idea of only having one bullet and having to catch it to recharge it. The moose controls are a bit strange since he doesn't directly follow you. It gets frustrating here and there, but overall it's a nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]