December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Speedy Tiny Golf!

by Xgor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So here's my game, It's a mini-golf game with only one button and time matters, not the score.

Just a heads up, this was really rushed....

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#256Fun3.24
#355Graphics3.20
#464Innovation2.96
#491Overall3.00
#659Mood2.53
#725Audio1.75
#954Theme1.88
#998Coolness48%

Comments

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Well done from a technical standpoint. I don't think the input method works well tho. The spinning arrow sort of makes interaction somewhat unintuitive, or at least that's what I thought.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Innovative idea, good execution. I don't really see how the theme entered into it though.

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Short and simple, but neat, and I liked the control scheme. Could have used a restart button instead of refreshing the page, but oh well!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This is pretty neat. It was weird to realize that I can hit that ball lots of times, and that timing is key. It goes against everything I know about mini golf.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I didn't like the spinning arrow but overall quite fun. Where does the theme come in?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

it's nice but a little bit too tiny :) Also a little bit distant from the theme but can be a nice "other" game :)

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

good idea

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Oh yeah my idea with theme was, "you only get one button".. Wasn't that obvious though.
Also, I started to work with another input and added this with less than 10 h left because I couldn't get the other one to work. (That would be simpler to play probably)

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Nice concept.

eskivor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38pm

What is the link with the theme ?

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

a nice game wish ther was more levels well done

smash ball says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:51pm

It ended when I was getting the hang of it. It was a nice concept, though I'm not sure it's the best use of theme (seemed a bit awkward with one button)

angelk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:05am

I really like the concept of the game. It might be an even better multiplayer style game, like a racing game.

Xgor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20pm

@angelk That's an awesome idea, wish I thought of that during the competition.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Cool game !! I would love move levels ! Nice work!

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Not sure how the theme is used here but I liked it.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

technically sound gameplay and great visuals... maybe a time limit incorporated with that spinning arrow to make it more challenging :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]