December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

VELOCITRON

by radmars - Jam Entry

Collect objects to go super fast // Don't smash into the pillars // You only get one shot to smash as many cubes as possible // VELOCITRON

Controls // WSAD or arrow keys

Since this game uses WebGL and is very performance-intensive, Chrome is HIGHLY recommended.

by team RADMARS:
spacemars: slam-jammin' programmin'
emarcotte: splodin' codin'
brendo: 3d modeling, game & level design, cornbread
adhesion: music, sfx, audio wizardry, wielder of many notes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#13Audio(Jam)4.09
#35Fun(Jam)3.78
#47Overall(Jam)3.78
#81Mood(Jam)3.55
#170Graphics(Jam)3.61
#269Innovation(Jam)2.83
#363Theme(Jam)2.47
#407Humor(Jam)1.80

Comments

chardish says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49am

Excellent stuff! Very polished. Visuals remind me of Rez. I didn't understand that I was supposed to hit the cubes at the end though.

evilDan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Ha! That was hella fun! Really, really enjoyed that!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Really nice. Very stylish.

You could definitely do more with this if you wanted. Take a look at PlayCanvas if you want more tools to work with WebGL stuff.

It went a bit weird at the end :-)

vapgames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Looks and feels so cool. Very meditative game, i could only succeed when i stopped thinking about what i was doing.
And work with audio is incredible! Great job!

ittlebit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Stylish, Well polished. I'm not sure if agree that it is meditative. You can certainly get into a flow.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Very fun game!
Graphics is really stylish. I also liked the soundtrack :)
Good job! Congrats!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Very polished. Responsive controls, well-integrated soundtrack, great transitions, everything you'd expect. Plays great in Firefox.

Gameplay-wise, I've been playing a lot of avoid-the-obstacles-in-a-tunnel games lately so I'm pretty used to them. I felt like I was losing because the corners started getting impossible to see around, not because I wasn't flying well. I think I'd like to see difficulty progression through more (or varied) obstacles rather than less visibility.

I'm really curious how you synchronized the audio and video; or did you just start the music and animation schedule at the same time?

There were two bugs that weren't a big deal. I couldn't use WASD because they triggered my browser's typeahead find, taking keyboard focus away from the game. You have to call .stopPropagation() and .preventDefault() on the key events you want to consume to keep them away from browser features. The alternate arrow key controls were a great idea and worked fine.

The other problem was that I played on a narrow 1080x1920 display, so the sides of the game were cropped off. Gameplay wasn't bad, it just looked odd when full-width text was clipped.

-mildmojo

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Amazing music! Very good game!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Wow, that was the most amazing game I've played all LD! Addictive, beautiful, and not buggy at all! Amazing work.

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:55am

Really great game!! I like the music, gameplay, graphics, even the logotype :D
Congrats!

ovenchips says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Really great. I think the audio is the star here with the graphics a close second. Slickly executed. I suspect this will place very highly indeed! Well done. :o) I agree with the comment about the cube grid at the end - wasn't sure whether I was supposed to avoid or collide.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:41am

Nice 3D vector art style. It ran fine in my Firefox. My best score was 2517.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:28am

Very nice game !! Really well polished, with an excellent work on music ! For my point of view, Y axis controls are inverted. Thanks to AutoKey, i could play a good time :) Thanks !

alcorrius says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:58am

Nice and fun! I like it!

Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:48am

Great use of WebGL, well done!

lasergans says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:50am

Really fun to play, but don't get the ending?!

KEFIR says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Wow! Very nice!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Fun game, great music. Can't see how it relates to theme though.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Superb. My daughter, of course, completely thrashed me at it. Very trance-like. The music totally matches the game.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Very fun! I beat my dad's high-score!

pjchardt says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:49am

Nice! Very smooth and enjoyable to play. Love the score mechanic at the end and the camera movement corresponding to the collisions!

BluShine says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:47am

Abstract and cool. I loved the music. The ending was unexpected and very awesome. I got 132960 points. It might have been nice to see a little more depth, maybe more levels or difficulties, but the game worked very well as a tiny, short, awesome package.

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:38am

I liked nice design. Good work! :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:27am

Great feel to this -- would be nice to have the camera drag behind the ship a little more though (i.e. to get a better perspective on the angle and relative position of the oncoming beams).

AlanZucconi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Hey, I discovered this game only now and is sooo cool! :)
I actually think that this game would be played perfectly with the custom-made controller I am working on: www.alanzucconi.com/alt-ctrl-gdc/ ! So far, it is integrated in Unity3D but if you think your program can easily access the serial port, I'd love to give it a try! :) I'm on Twitter (@AlanZucconi) let me know there if you are interested! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]