December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Daddy Rises

by carrymove - Jam Entry

Imagine that you're ex-governor of little siberian town Omskomordor. You want to return your authority. You have only one way - you should say that Omskomordor can have only one governor. And this governor is you. Your single way - attacking Omskomordor.

Get ready!

Gameplay:

Click on the gray building under your statue to spawn drones (you can do it every 5 seconds). You should downgrade level of Omskomordor Tower by attacking it with your drones. When level of Omskomordor Tower will be 0, game will be finished. But guard your tower, because you also can be defeated!

If your don't understand how to play, watch the gameplay video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Net-Vmo5I9U

Game made in Stencyl.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Humor(Jam)3.10
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#332Audio(Jam)2.64
#364Overall(Jam)2.87
#369Theme(Jam)2.45
#371Graphics(Jam)2.82
#388Innovation(Jam)2.52
#434Fun(Jam)2.41
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25am

governor is dead! he is Dead!! stop with him :p

nice idea =)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28am

Tried this game because of the LOTR ref. ! And I really enjoyed it ! ;)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34am

cool idea, but its little bit boring i would say...it should have more user interaction involved somehow. also i dont see connection to main theme.

carrymove says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37am

@JacksGamesSucks, connection with theme in story :) It's boring, because we wanted to make a lot of things, but nothing worked in JS-version and we remade game during 2 hours in Stencyl before Ludum Dare finished :D

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42am

I enjoyed this more then I thought I would :P Nice game

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I found it to move to slow and that made it a bit boring. There also wasn't much user interaction in the game. I liked the idea of it and the graphics.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Wow! Surprisingly addictive. The gameplay is a tad linear but this was a great idea! It would have been nice to spawn different ships with more powerful ones having longer cooldowns or something. Or even just a visual effect where your minions get bigger when your tower upgrades.

In any case what you have is solid and I really enjoyed it \(^_^)/

OddballDave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Needed a couple more ways to affect the gameplay. But nice attempt, especially if you threw it together in the last 2 hours.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

One of the best games I played until now, I really loved it!

carrymove says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13pm

@WiseGAMER, thanks ;-)

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:36pm

More features wouldn't hurt. Still fun. Maybe that's because I'm from Omsk myself..

Atridas says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:49am

Battlecats references are allways good. Drags a little at the end, because you don't win based on the speed of your guys, but on the numbers of them, so upgrading your building really does nothing. Nice music.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:24pm

A lot of frantic clicking involved, I enjoyed it. Also, cool soundtrack.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Addicting and catchy tune, you should tweak the speed though (if you don't start mashing right away it might take a long while to win).

occash says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Nice idea, guys!
I think that you're Russians because....I'm Russian))))

Хорошая идея)мне нравится! чувак похож на Буша немного! и дух Властелина Колец очень круто вписывается)Спасибо!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]