December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Orb

by patricklorio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a wizard with one magical and powerful orb. You possess the ability to safely catch and throw it. Use this orb to battle off enemies and progress to the next level.

Note that because the orb is so powerful, you cannot catch it until is discharges some energy by hitting something.

Use WASD to move.
Use left mouse button to shoot the orb.
Let the orb hit you to catch it.

Hints: Let the goblins get close and hold the left mouse button down. "Bounce it off their heads"

I compiled it using JDK1.7, so Java7 might be a requirement. If it is and you cannot run it, let me know and I'll post a Java6 version. Hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#178Fun3.39
#201Audio3.11
#221Theme3.39
#260Humor2.89
#306Overall3.25
#398Mood2.91
#399Graphics3.11
#493Innovation2.93

Comments

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28am

Really enjoyed this! Definitely like the art.

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

Nice game! We both made a game about orbs, haha.

My biggest suggestion would be to lock the camera onto the player. It was really disorienting when it jumped away from the player whenever I moved to the edge of the screen.

I played until the middle of level 3, where my game crashed.

Music was nice, and the basic mechanic was simple, but fun.

Kruithne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

Would be nicer if it had a few warm-up levels before throwing you straight into the action but really fun!

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39am

Neat idea. I found the indicator on the bottom left really confusing since it looks like another enemy. Fun game, though.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

Really enjoyable :D

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

Fun game. The ball bouncing around did get annoying though

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Ha, I really enjoyed this game. Reminds me of the scene in the original MiB when Will Smith makes that little orb bounce around on accident.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Pretty fun. Not sure if the high speed was intentional, but somehow I managed to do some accidental trick shots with the purple ball of doom anyway. ;)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Art is cool, reminds me of Legends of Yore :)

Very cool!

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

Very good use of the theme! I like the simplistic art, and the gameplay was very fast paced and exciting. Good work!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice. Sometimes it gets little bit chaotic because of colors and camera movement. :-)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Hmm the game keeps crashing on the 3rd level. Also I wish the camera would be bit better adjusted, it seems to follow you bit slow, making it hard to see around you.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52am

Very fun, awesome idea for the theme, and cute pixel art. I agree that the camera movement is annoying. Unfortunately, the game kept freezing about half-way through the third level.

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I really liked the art and the idea! Nice job!

danbo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53pm

I love orbs and I hate goblins so this is about right. I like that you can't catch it until it hits something.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Ha! Nice one. Got a 9-hit combo. The camera movement was a bit awkward and the pink squares confused me (were they supposed to mean anything, or just decoration?)

Unfortunately it keeps crashing on level 3:
java: ./Box2D/Dynamics/b2Island.h:54: void b2Island::Add(b2Body*): Assertion `m_bodyCount < m_bodyCapacity' failed.
Aborted (core dumped)

patricklorio says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:21am

Thanks for the error message. I haven't been able to recreate it on my system so I'm having trouble debugging the issue.

As for the pink squares, it's the wizard's spawn point. I build the game so that the levels are just images. When an image/level is loaded it identifies specific colored pixels (pink square, black square, dark grey) and makes them spawn points or obstacles depending on color.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:27pm

A lot of fun! Crashed for me unfortunately, I had many many goblins stacked on top of each other and when they all collided with the orb it froze up.

jonask says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I enjoyed this, it just needs a bit of polish :)

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:12am

Awesome concept, music was great, game was fun, but the camera movement could use some work, and there were frequent crashes which made it difficult to get too far. There was also some trouble with goblins walking through walls (in level 4, which was the furthest I got with crashes).
Still rated highly!

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

With some tuning you could get a good game out of this!

lucentbeam says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Well done! This was one of the more entertaining games I've played - I liked the controls, music, and art. Unfortunately, I got a libgdx crash at some point :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]