December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Button Wonder

by Arcantic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are randomly assigned a button, qwertyuiop, and that button controls everything. Its pretty hard not to finish the game. Pretty short. Should have worked more but I'm still happy.

The error at the very end of the game that makes it crash is on purpose by the way.

EDIT: If you tried this recently and it did not run, Dropbox must have removed my update for some reason? Not sure. Re-uploaded a working version

RUN OBW_LD28.exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#165Theme3.50
#188Humor3.10
#265Audio2.96
#314Mood3.03
#364Innovation3.10
#444Overall3.07
#586Fun2.74
#611Graphics2.71

Comments

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

Worked perfect. Very interessting concept, fun though

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

Nice it was an intresting play.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Let me skip the dialogue.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36am

Absolutley loved it.
I was genuinely surprised by how funny it was. keep up the awesome work. :D

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44am

Simple and short but I liked it. Atmosphere was great.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:25am

Good game, of course a longer story would be great, but very good concept and application of the theme!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:12am

Awww man, genuinely gutted when it finished :( Great concept well realised too :D

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:09am

Didn't run at all :(

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Great concept ! Very well played ! ;)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:06am

Super cool idea.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:30am

I really like the style and together with the fonts it ties together nicely.
Good gameplay, with a twist.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Had the feeling it took some inspiration from 'Papers please' but that's only a good thing. Slow presentation gave the game more depth and didn't feel rushed, kudo's on that. The one character for words and names reflected the worker's inability to look outside his work, felt like that drove the point home.

Oh and, yyyy you. ;)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:56am

I really liked the name entry with the single button. Good use of the theme

Dec 31, 2013 @ 1:06am

Wouldn't even open (or opened, then immediately crashed) on Windows 7 64. Can't rate, sorry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]