December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Don't forget your old shipmate

by Dining Philosopher - Jam Entry

You're a pirate, swashbuckling about in the Caribbean. Outgunned and outnumbered by the navy, you have to rely on your seamanship and your single, special, reusable cannonball to survive.

The clouds show you which way the wind blows, you cannot sail directly into it, but have to beat it. Nautical term for zigzag.

CONTROLS:
Press and hold F to Fire your special cannonball.
With C you can change the position of the cannon.
Press B to plunder a wreck.
Steer with left and right keys.
Hold the down key to slow down.
Hold the up key to go faster, but you'll pay for the wear!

How much gold can you plunder?

---------------------

Since we ran out of time there are still some graphics glitches, the game runs pretty slow and enemies don't respawn. If you've sunk them all, no win is triggered yet. If you shoot your cannonball on land, there is no way to get it back.

We may make a post-compo with more enemies, harbors, island interactions and upgrades.

Comments are very welcome. :)

---------------------


Code (HTML5/Canvas, JavaScript and the Crafty library) by Jelle
Images (InkScape) by Anneroos
Sounds & music (Audacity + microphone) by Anneroos
Singing by Jelle ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#58Audio(Jam)3.68
#68Humor(Jam)3.37
#129Theme(Jam)3.24
#203Innovation(Jam)3.04
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#279Fun(Jam)2.81
#281Overall(Jam)3.07
#305Graphics(Jam)3.08

Comments

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:10am

Seems a great game. I can't understand how it works (how to fire) and you should add a restart button (when you die)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Dear Masadow, you checked our game two hours early, it was still a work in progress. ;) Press F for fire, and restarting is now possible. :)

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I see you and I had the exact same game idea. :D The only difference is that in my game you have to fight the pirates. (And of course your graphics are far nicer.)

Cool game. It's quite hard to sink the enemy ships.

And I really like your song! Well done!

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Cool game. I think there are a few too many enemy ships though, or maybe I am just a really bad captain.

anapff says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Love that audio!

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Oh that's very good now. Don't worry, I did not rate your game when I first played it. I read in your comments it was not done yet :)

The game is very funny, a little bit hard for me. But I still had some fun. The wind is blowing too hard for me also and it often get you killed.

I loved the pirate song :D

Great take on the theme even if you're in jam ;)

Great work !

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:58am

Best audio ever.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Haha, awesome job on the sound. It took a while to figure out what buttons to use (the tutorial uses a interesting, but not very readable font), but the mechanic is pretty cool and I did manage to shoot down some of the other ships. Changing gun direction was also funny when using stereo headphones. Very nicely made.

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Digging the sea shanties. :) This feels like a game I could come back to. It's simple, but challenging.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nice graphics and audio and the parrot surely is a nice touch. Unfortunately the game seems way too difficult for me.. :(

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:39am

This is too difficult for me :(.And It runs soo slow on my computer :/

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Controls take some time to get used to but I enjoyed this game a lot. Absolutely loved the audio.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:32pm

I like the parrot. It's a bit hard to aim, at least for me. This could really be something if you put some more polish into it.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Great job with the wind idea! This seems difficult enough to get you hooked on playing. Kind of risky move with the audio though, I have really mixed feelings on that :D

UltraRat says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Could use a "Press R ( Arrrr ) to restart." Sea Shanty song audio ftw.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:28pm

i dont understand what i must to do, but anyway good concept i love pirates!!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]