December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

GoatLove

by DST - Jam Entry

You only have one chance at true love, she is there, waiting for you, and she is a pink metal space goat.
She lost her rocket and you must save her!
But you must not leave a mess (she really hates that), and thus must clear the path between you of any space-junk, (which, by the way, is toxic because it's in space, (duh))..
Otherwise she will leave you and break your shiny metal-heart.

Controls:
Mouse - Choose One
Arrows - Move around
Ctrl/Space - Shoot

ESC - Don't press that one before you're asked to.

--
VMD and DST made it, we spent about 15 hours - But we were two people so it's in the Jam.... dude. :)
It's written in C, using SDL and OpenGL, and a homebrew engine.

== UPDATE ==
Fixed the nme spawning on Windows, for some reason the method I used for generating random floats did not work there..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#167Humor(Jam)2.80
#241Graphics(Jam)3.30
#263Theme(Jam)2.77
#265Fun(Jam)2.84
#338Audio(Jam)2.61
#370Overall(Jam)2.85
#371Mood(Jam)2.61
#481Innovation(Jam)2.22

Comments

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54am

It might be a bit too hard at the moment. Perhaps the spawn rate of debris should scale with elapsed time.

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

It was fun for a while but a bit short and repetitive. The enemies only spawned at the bottom of the screen so I barely had to move at all. I liked the particle effects though.

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Graphics are pretty neat, not sure what those wheels are doing there though but made laugh!
Quite challenging game! Keep on doing cool stuff :D

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I liked it.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:27pm

I liked it! The gameplay was a bit simple but the game is short enough to allow it. I did quite like the graphics, they were pretty charming.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Looks very pretty. I love the particles.

Game is a bit short mechanics wise and very easy once you spot that they only spawn in one place on the screen.

Solid effort in my view.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice entry.
Please take a bigger font size next time. ;)
Gameplay was OK but having to quit and restart the game on death gets frustrating fast.

Doccrazy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Very grindy at the start

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Graphics are good, but, why do all asteroids and wheels spawn on the same line? :-)

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I have no idea why it spawns them all on one line, I just tried in WINE and it seems to do that in the windows version, but it works fine in Linux =(

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05pm

fixed

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Really liked the game, but having to restart it every time you die was a bit frustrating especially considering how easy you die. Graphics were good though!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Great polish and graphics, and clearly a decent engine you got there. Hard at first, but you can easily cheat by constantly holding down the reverse button!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Haha, wheels in space. Guess there was a massive, intergalactic car crash^^ I giggled when I read the instructions. Do this? You die. Do that? you die!:P The game itself was quite fun to play, and the graphics were simple but effective. I like the idea of shutting down the game once the player fails. Nice entry man!

ViperMD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

For those that have commented on the graphics, a big thank you from the guy behind the low-ish poly models. :D This was my first LD, but doubt it will be my last. :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice but quite repetitive. Enjoyed the graphic side :)

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Could use more creativity.

DST says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:18am

Nichii, it sure could ;) Most time was spent doing other stuff, like getting the engine to behave, asset loading and stuff done, also, we were exceptionally lazy this LD and pretty much canned the effort :D

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:04am

I enjoyed this. I'm a sucker for side-on/top-down shooting games.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:18am

Nice graphics, feels a bit hard.

Rothens says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Very hard game, but nice. I think I found a bug. I can slow down WHILE going down, but not, when going up.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:21am

With a slow computer, restarting the game every time I died got obnoxious very quickly. Otherwise, the game wasn't bad. Nothing mindblowing, but decent.

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Windows and linux but no mac? Any chance of an osx version?

DST says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Thing is, that it is quite possible to compile for Windows and Linux using just a linux computer, but for whatever reason, there is no convenient way of building for OSX without actually using OSX.

DST says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Rothens, some keyboards do not have the ability to do "left+up+space" combination, that be the cause of this behavior at your computer.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]