December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Peaceful Greeting

by Jilt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Peaceful Greeting, you have to answer properly to the aliens came to terraform the earth (yeah, terraform. the earth. haha, I didn't find any other word to say it).


In order to do so, you have to understand their messages, helped by your mother's studies and notes.

The controls are :
Left/Right arrows to move
Up/Right arrows to see your mother's letter (because it is important and I know that almost everyone will skip it, haha)
Space to interract with objects


I hope you're gonna enjoy my game !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#4Innovation4.35
#4Graphics4.55
#60Overall3.77
#83Mood3.61
#267Fun3.22
#489Theme2.88
#508Humor2.22
#786Audio1.31

Comments

Hiku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

Nice ! Enjoyed it.
This is really funny to speak with aliens :D
However, a little bit too short.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47am

Oh my God! (This game looks so good I even took the time to write "Oh my God" instead of "OMG").

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02am

Very nice looking, nice story, nice alien language, 5 stars ;-)

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07am

More fun than I suspect at first. Learning the glyph and implementing it really tick something on my brain :D
Need more music/audio support to make it more immersive for player.

Jilt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Yes turnA I wanted to make some sound but I spent too much time programming it (I'm not really efficient, I make lots of stupid mistakes haha) and at the send I hadn't have any time to make sounds ! I totally agree sounds are missing :)

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08am

really nice game! can't believe you came up with a visual language, the visuals are so strong in general

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23am

Excellent graphics! Also: All out war versus the earth :O

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26am

Amazing graphics, awesome immersion even without sound and music. And an almost scary prospect too, talking to the aliens and not knowing whether you are saying the right things or not! :D I found it really difficult to work out the language though, but maybe it is just me - don't really understand the whole interrogation/affirmation thing! Never ever played a game like this before!

Follett says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27am

Very innovative, but it was not very fun for me. I played it for a while though because of how nice the art was.

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32am

Interesting concept. Really pretty game.

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35am

Very nice graphics. It's a bit silly he/she walks so fast though. Nice game.

Evilion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I can't hold my tears playing this game, so much feelings !

bobo_oh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Quite Awesome :)

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05am

Gorgeous game! I love in game languages, so I thought this was really fun. Could have used an editor though!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

I loved the sort of puzzle-solving in this game! The language is well-designed and had me drawing alien symbols on scrap paper. I felt a bit crazy, like when I was trying to solve puzzles in FEZ.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I am a big big fan of such colors! It's raining Stars for you :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Interesting and Beautiful game!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Very pretty and such a neat idea (:
Great job!

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Interesting game! Would be nice if there were some sound, though. :)

lparker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Really enjoyed this game. Beautiful graphics.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Hey great work, i loved the game, loved the story, loved the art (simple but smooth and cool)! :D was kind of hard TO ME to understand what the aliens were saying but it was a lot of fun! at the end i start a new beginning with Aliens, i tho i was going to destroy my planet xD There is no audio (or it was my computer? o.0) i was waiting for a relaxing melody or something but thats ok n_n excellent work!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:41pm

A bizarre experience. :-)
I really like the aesthetic of the game... it all fits together really nicely! :D

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:25am

Very original idea! Puzzling out the messages was quite fun, even though I was not always 100% clear on the meaning. A more complex version of the game would be awesome.

jerombd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Really enjoyed this game, even I'm not sure how I won!
I love games where you have to be confused, where you are not sure of what to do, what to say: nice experience^^ And I love contrast between the seriousness of the plot and the cuteness of the art!

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:33am

Really cool game and great graphics!

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Interesting concept. Not highly challenging, I think I said "yes", "peace" and "yes", which I could probably have figured out without reading the alien's messages. I thought it was an interesting choice to have your mother's letter pop up using the up arrow, but you have to walk back and forth to see the dictionary. Some of the compound words are interesting- I'm unsure of the difference between a yes-planet and a someone-planet. But I always find it interesting playing with limited-word languages. Language is always hard to program, so you've taken on quite a challenge here.

Jilt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:11am

@Nelien, the game is indeed pretty short (I'm really not a programmer, I spent too much time coding the core of the game, and didn't have time to make it longer), but if you had said just "yes" or just "peace", or just changing the order, you would have lost, so I don't think it is so much easy to answer without trying to understand, but maybe I'm wrong. Anyway, thanks for the feedbacks, I'm willing to make a more finished version of the game, because I liked making it a lot and I was very frustrated at the end when I realized I didn't have any time left to finish it in the way I wanted to.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:07pm

This is an awesome game, congratulations !

leparlon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Did I just... learnt a new language?
Great work, loved it. I would love a longer version of this game. But it's totally understandable it being this short for this compo.
5/5 would play again.

Pomb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:00am

Wow that was surprisingly awesome! I really dig this take for a memory game, nice job, amazing environment.

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:15am

Brilliant. I haven't solved the language yet but am intrigued enough to continue.
Great story, original and very beautiful graphics and a puzzle I want to solve.
Best game for me so far.
Of course I would have liked sound to make it more immersive, but maybe you can do that later?
This is a game to recommend!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:18pm

looks neat, wish there was a mac version

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Download file is an ecxe :( it should say 'windows' instead of 'download'

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Very beautiful game. I'm amazed you designed a neat language like this in little time. I enjoyed trying to decipher what the aliens were saying. You should develop this language further.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:52pm

I did it. Although it was very confusing at the beginning it was solvable. Thank you for the nice idea and good implementation.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Peace Star Star Somebody !
Wow! Politeness Somebody Moon Moon
Somebody...

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Stunning graphics and I suppose I only have myself to blame for loosing, since I did declare that war on purpose (so I replayed and got some peace). I found it a bit annoying to have the instructions hide/show on up down button as I was inclined to press those going back and forth between base and forest.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:46am

What a clever geometric language and grammar! It was a very fun game. Enjoyed running into the forest and deciphering messages in time to make world-saving replies, haha. Thanks mum!

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:32am

Enjoyed it, but some messages were really hard to understand for me, and man, the replies could only be single words so it felt inadequate. But I still liked it, and the amazing graphics were a great icing on the cake. Awesome experience, had me drawing symbols all over a notebook xD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]