December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The True And Only Way to Mono

by Tyu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a careless hipster dude who just discovered a new way of life: the MONO. By following the MONO he limits himself to use only one object per day. But today, his mom is coming to see him, and his apartment is a huge mess. Choose between the sponge, the hammer and the cardboard to clean your flat, you only have one minute! With some effort, you really can wash your dishes with a hammer, tidy your socks with a sponge, and repair a water leak with some carboard. That's the true and only way to Mono.

___________________________________

UPDATE: Fixed the GUI (last minute code that wasn't good) and the collisions.

___________________________________

I used Game Maker 8 and Photoshop. For the sound, I used some sounds on freesound and universal-soundbank, and I made some music on ujam.com . I don't know if it really follow the jam rules, but apparently it's fine.

I'm glad I finished my game and that it works this time, I also drew a lot more and I feel more satisfied (plus I level'd up as hell in GML since last time). The gameplay isn't that interesting, though, I constantly changed little things to make it more fun but choosing one object instead of another doesn't really change anything. Maybe I'll put different scores on different objects and making them spawn more or less depending on that in a post compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#48Humor3.75
#49Audio3.63
#49Graphics4.09
#169Mood3.33
#189Theme3.47
#247Overall3.32
#256Fun3.24
#455Innovation2.97

Comments

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48am

:D

Evilion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I smiled !

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08am

I enjoyed the graphical style, and the gameplay kept me entertained for a while.

kaype says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10am

I love the humor! I'm surprised to see so many people using game maker nowadays, I'm glad it's no longer getting constant flack.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Great concept, really endearing art/sound. Sweet lines :) I wish I could hammer things clean in real life. Got stuck on collision a few times, and I couldn't fix my leaking bed! Had the music playing twice out of sync after starting new game.

severus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I like the graphics, but i don't know how you can wash your dishes with a hammer

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:55pm

It doesn't really matter what tool you use, as long as you can make a good game out of it, it is a good tool ;) Long time ago, many said that those who used Game Maker is a noob. No, it isn't. You don't call yourself professional simply because you used C++. Game Maker focuses more on making good game and design, and this game proves it. Simple, yet fun. Also, kind of addicted to it. You get high score for this :D

Tyu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28pm

> Gungnir: yeah I tried to fix them but looks like they're still a bit buggy. I'll move a bit the objects on the bed to make it easier. Aaand yeah I forgot to fix the problem with the music, thanks for reminding me!
> severus: that's the magic in videogames (ノ◐ヮ◑)ノ*:・゚✧ (i'm really sure that you can though, if you spend enough time on it). Joking apart, I thought of putting other sprites on objects when you'd use the wrong tool on it, like broken but sparkling plates, hiding your broken chair in a cardboard box, stuffing your leak with a sponge, and so on. But since I submitted my game 3 min before the deadline, I haven't really had the time :D

Thanks everybody!

Tyu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I really nailed this emoticon, didn't I.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Aha, this is awesome. Really quirky art style too, rated highly! :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I love this game, its funny and adictive, good job!!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Good graphics, nice job !

Hermes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:05pm

It's fun!

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:28am

The art is amazing. And i really love the humor of the intro! I think that the game need a "end" for a really good experience.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Really funny game. Love music and the graphics designs. I can't stop laugh about the guy cleaning all xD. Great work.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:50am

Great take on the theme! Too bad the collision detection spoils the fun :( But still, very good entry indeed!

occash says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:40pm

It was so funny and now I have such good mood! Thank you!

Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Lol the game was nice xD very fun and happy (: Great work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]