December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Batteries Not Included

by sockfolder - Jam Entry

A puzzlely platformy roboty game, one where you have an incredible FOUR abilities to help you maneuver, with the slight flaw you can only hold ONE ability on your person... er... robot.

Move with WASD or the arrows keys.
Z/J to fire your weapon.
X/K to interact with objects.
C/L to drop your current ability.

You don't just choose one ability at a time, but can only HOLD one at a time, and must return to reobtain a discarded ability.

Note: I call the abilities MODULES, and they slightly change the appearance of your robot. They are color coded as -
Red: Sprint. Appears as an engine.
Blue: Double jump. Appears as a rocket jetpack.
Yellow: Float. Appears as small wings.
Green: Plasma rifle. Appears as a plasma rifle.

Hit Up midair to double jump. Double tap Left/Right to sprint (necessary to go up slopes). Hold Up to float.

Story: Rabit the robot was taking a casual stroll through an abandoned military complex when Rabit was suddenly, at no fault of his (or her?) own, hit with an intense plasma blast. His power circuit fired, and his machine was no longer able to support more than ONE of his awesome (and expensive) toys. He decides to search the facility for a new battery.

I set out to make this game for the Compo, but fell epicly short. I still followed the rules (other than the 48hour one), and all the artwork and coding are mine. The last two levels were designed by my brother, who has his own style.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#113Theme(Jam)3.29
#242Fun(Jam)2.94
#249Humor(Jam)2.41
#272Graphics(Jam)3.20
#291Overall(Jam)3.06
#319Innovation(Jam)2.71
#342Mood(Jam)2.70
#409Audio(Jam)2.21

Comments

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52am

Using a Mac so I'm not able to try it, sorry!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:53am

So you're "Sockhold"! Man, I'm so glad that your game is awesome!

I enjoyed the art style right away. Like, you know how to work with what you've got and make it look good. The scrolling offset on the background, the wiggling on the robot, and the textures are all pretty big so you don't notice the wrapping.

I really like the physics. Nice fast acceleration as you move off and slower stopping for a smooth halt. Jump physics are nice too.

I love that you made so many abilities. It actually took me a couple of levels to truly understand what everything was (like, I hadn't realised the double jump was because of my backpack, but I knew it must do something, then on the level where you have to repeatedly swap round the different backpacks I suddenly realised that you could respawn the backpacks from those little stations, hadn't noticed that before). But that's more my idiocy than anything.

Fun game, lots of tricky little puzzles and clever bits where you're like "Ha, I got through and I didn't even need a backpack", move forward and then you're like "Crap, I totally needed that backpack".

And the tutorial area is nice and simple, just key presses.

Impressed!

No idea why that other guy even posted, either.

Oh and by the way, I set up a new link that has a leaderboard, which you've topped forever:
http://vorpal-games.com/rude-bear-resurrection/web.php

I wanted to give you a trophy, but you don't have a profile I can access!

Cheers.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:25am

In that moment im using mac.. and dont try it..

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:37am

Ooooooooooooooh this is so good! Lots of thought went into this and your puzzles are well made but HOLY CRAP that tutorial is king. You taught me how to play while letting me play, which is the best way to do it.

The visual style is certainly unique and consistent but the real draw here is your amazing use of theme and the fun factor. This is a real winner!

RAD!

udinjelek says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:08am

wogh nice game, the graphic is awesome, but when avoid the purple water its little difficult hehe.. but still its awesome game XD

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:11am

Cool game, with really nice background details and actually having the robot subtly change! Did find a bug with the double jump that at one point made be jump more than two times, then later made me jump a huge amount and out of the level bounds.

Also a note, the game does work on a mac; I used chrome and the unity web player and had no issues.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:00am

I like the introduction to get the player used to all the powers at one time. Well done puzzles and level design. Good job

sockfolder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:02am

Hey, thanks for the nice review. To bad I don't know how the profile works or how to make it public lol.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:17am

A+ tutorial and level design, best execution of the "choose your powerup"-style games I've played. Some of the puzzles proved to be quite a challenge! Well done!

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:51am

So much keys. Very good game.

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:08am

Great little game, nice graphics and the story got me somewhat hooked :)
There's a little something wrong with the scrolling parallax, not sure what it is but it makes me kind of sick :D

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:49am

Nice game :D the tutorial reminds me the one in little big planet :D

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:51am

Heh, this was very nicely executed. The puzzes were good and it had me hooked onto it for a very long time, trying to solve 'em. Plus the great graphics and the nice, smooth controls.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:56am

Rather interesting idea and it's very nicely executed! While the tutorial is excellent, I got a bit lost when "floating" was explained.. I got what I have to press but it was a bit difficult with the screen blocking me. Made me feel a bit stupid ;)

CogentInvalid says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:35am

The collision detection was unpleasant at times, especially when I keep sliding down the corners of platforms I'm trying to jump onto, but it was at least better than many other games'. The movement itself was very fluid, and the puzzles were well thought-out and fit with the main mechanic of the game.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:38am

That was impressive. I like the mechanic but sometimes it does get a bit tedious. Would love to see more levels!

_zulli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:09am

Cool use of theme! Fluid mechanics and puzzles. Great job :)

If you have time, please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it:)

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Graphic design and gameplay are wonderfull :DI like it!

neekobus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:53pm

GOOD : Nice idea ! Good level design ! I like the integrated tutorial.
Bad : I am stuck with the "key module" : I don't know what to do (I don't have module : I have restarted).

GFM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:51pm

This reminded my of my LD#26 game, but done in a much better well.

My main complaint is about the platforms... using a round edge my it hard to make some jumps...

Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This game was a bit hard to understand, but I did like it. I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/IHhkgdPuakc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]