December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Square Warfare: You Only Get One

by cBit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To play, you must make your way towards the green objective marker in under one minute. The enemies (red squares) keep increasing in speed until you reach the objective, so don't take too long! You can die (and lose the game) by being hit by a red square, taking over a minute, or falling off the edge of the level.

You can use only the mouse to control your square, but if you find that too difficult you can use WASD controls instead.

Detailed controls and other instructions are listed when you run the game.


I'm not sure if we had to host the binaries/source ourselves, so I've linked to the "raw" versions from my github repository (https://github.com/someuser-321/LD28). They should download without a problem, but if anything pops up then I can find somewhere else to host them.


EDIT: I've changed some build properties so you should be able to run it on Windows without any errors now.
If you still get the error, you can try downloading the Visual C++ 2012 Runtime here (sorry!): http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1516Coolness26%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16am

Wish I could play! EXE Claims that I am missing msvcr110d.dll(windows 7).

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Couldn't run, got an MSCVS.dll error...

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

Works fine on Linux.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

Had a wow moment when zooming in and out

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:36am

It worked for me, One minute of fun was fun.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42am

This was pretty damn fun.

I need to learn to read things better, the first time through I just spun around shooting. Then once I read that you could move the game made a lot more sense :P.

cBit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

Thanks for the comments! I'm not sure why that error is happening, but I'll see if I can fix it.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Yeah I can't get it to work either. I'm on Windows 7 and msvcr110d.dll is missing. Tried to download it off the net and it still didn't work. Shame :C

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

You hugged a square...lol

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17am

Gameplay may be a bit stale, but zooming out made me go "woah", that looks so cool! :D

ACE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:49pm

COOL... but needs sound and a score board

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Also that .dll error. I'm going to cry now.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Fun :) it's harder on zoomed in state than on zoomed out.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]