December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shot At Glory

by unpronounceable - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Essentially a shmup where you can't shoot back. Instead you have to disable the core by ramming into it. You only have one shot at this, one shot at glory.

Controls:
On the title screen press 1 through 9 to bring you to a level. Press 0 to bring up the instructions.

In game the arrow keys will move you around. Shift will make you move slower and shrink your hit box. Try to ram the pink circle while avoiding all it's shields and shots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

Easier than it looked at first. I was able to get a couple of the spheres by sheer luck--I just rushed in and hit shift when things got cluttered. Regardless, it was still fun and reasonably challenging. Nice work.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

A very challenging and rewarding game. Quite visually pleasing!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Not bad, cool twist of the mechanics!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Woah, didn't expect to see a bullet hell with this theme. A pretty unique take on those.

With more polish and better designed challenges this could be a success. There's some variety in the challenges as it is, but the patterns just don't feel very carefully tweaked. Can't really put my finger on what this is missing mechanically, maybe I'm just too used to Touhou controls and attacks.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Lovely little game :) I didn't find it at all easy though. Don't know how many times I died, but I kept trying again.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I beat all the levels! Woohoo! .. I wish I had read the instructions, because it was just now reading the comments when I realized shift did something .. that would have made things much easier.

I feel like 7 should have been the last level, man that one was _hard_! This is great, I usually don't enjoy bullet hells, but, I played every level and it was pretty fun!

Great job:D

murilo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Simple but amazing!! I beat'em all but 7 and 8. Is 7 even possible?? I went mad! :D Great idea on the theme!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Inventive twist on the format.

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:59pm

There's some really nice patterns but with instant death and just ditching you back to a level select it's really hard to get into the flow of playing the game.

A proper progression between levels and a smoother difficulty curve would go a long way to making this really good. Still had fun dodging the bullets though!

csanyk says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Fun, very difficult. Might be easier if I had a stick or gamepad instead of this keyboard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]