December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zestboi Ice Racing

by Just_delete_it - Jam Entry

Those Zestboi are at it again. Since they only have one life to live, and with unimaginable amounts of their parents cash laying around, they've decided to go all out and take some luxury cars on a icy race.

A and D to steer, pedal to the metal with Space, and S to reverse.

Currently there are:
3 different cars to play as,
6 levels to beat,
and a lot of dept to occur in car damages and insurance.

By James Earl Cox III and Joe Cox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#75Humor(Jam)3.33
#193Audio(Jam)3.10
#326Fun(Jam)2.71
#369Graphics(Jam)2.83
#397Overall(Jam)2.78
#407Mood(Jam)2.50
#456Innovation(Jam)2.29
#528Theme(Jam)1.80

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:07am

love the graphics & sound. theme?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28am

To sum it up in an abbreviation I dislike: yolo; you only have one life so why not do stupid extreme things.. like luxury vehicle ice racing.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41am

Hah, the sound effects are great! I am horrible at this game!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56am

too hard for me :/

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58am

I like the money flying when you crash your car. Driving is tricky though, can't really look ahead that well ;)

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59am

I suck at this. I tried for like 15 minutes to get around the first corner in the practice before I gave up. However, the game is absolutely hilarious and reto-feely at the same time. Great job!

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13am

argh! I really tried hard but I also failed hard (-1 fun). and the controls are ridiculous (+1 humor).

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20am

I dislike the car being at the center of the screen, although i loved the sound effects.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26am

impossibly hard to I didn't get further than the first track
I like a lot of things about this game : stupidity, flying money, impossible controls, voice acting, car sprites, and ice.

hazzen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48am

I can't play your game - I just see some screenshots and a bunch of ads on the page.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

Graphics are cool, but I'm a little bit disapointed by the "GO" and the Title screen :(
Good game "yolo style" :p

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25am

"Their parents buy them cars!" got me laughing. Handling was very difficult, even on the cars with "good handling" due to limited vision of the track.

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53am

So bloody difficult! Comes together well, but difficulty is like a smack in the face.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:57am

nice idea but in my opinion its not playable...i cant pass 2 turns

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Hilarious, but very difficult to handle. Still, pretty fun just blowing up your opponent most of the time.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:10am

i laught so hard with the sounds. Goooo Goooo hahahaha so much fun voice. About the game, this is the most crazy racing game i played. I like the idea and so much fun. Good job guy :)

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:48pm

One of my favorites so far! Definitely hard though :)

floorman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Cheesy graphics, cheesy sound and a solid game overall. This was really fun to play. :)

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Shit this car accelerates with fucking light speed :D Instant crash the first time.
Instant crash the 34th time. Best SFX ever.

Steering could be a bit faster in relation to the speed of the car.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:33pm

crappy because none of the cars have good handling o anything except the computer

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:22am

Laughed my ass off! The game is absurdly hard but is funny as hell! :D

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:29am

This game has a unique feeling. The controls were a bit strange though, since you couldn't really steer if you weren't hitting the gas.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:34am

Controls were pretty unforgiving (it's like a hardcore version of Micro Machines) but the game overall was pretty solid.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:29pm

It was too difficult and bizarre to be taken seriously. But maybe that was the point, cause it was funny all in all.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Very humorous! Loved the sfx.

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Hold on, you're brothers? You're the Zestboi! With all your money made by the advertisments on your game page :)
I really liked the style of the game, the music, the overhyped tone, also a lot to choose.
But the driving needs some work, I found it unplayable. The idea of wrecking the car fits the theme but could use some more work.

occash says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Great sound and graphics! I like this game so much!

But if only there is longer route...)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]