December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Ronin

by ResonantCraft - Jam Entry

Description

"The Ronin" puts you into the skin of a fallen samurai. Fight to the death in unforgiving duels ! You get a single opportunity to kill each of your enemies.


Features

- Duel-based fights
- Thought for mobiles

Please tell us your best scores ! And don't hesitate to give my teammate and I feedback, or engage with us @ResonantCraft on twitter !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#61Audio(Jam)3.66
#122Graphics(Jam)3.86
#134Fun(Jam)3.26
#147Overall(Jam)3.37
#259Mood(Jam)2.90
#311Humor(Jam)2.17
#327Innovation(Jam)2.69
#452Theme(Jam)2.21

Comments

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I can't tell you how much I love this game!!!!!
Really solid play, nicely fitted music, and the great feeling one only gets by parrying an opponents blows. Very fun!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

never loads, the art looked neat though wanted to play :(

OddballDave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Very polished. Looks like it was made with mobile/tablets in mind and as such it was a little awkward on a laptop trackpad. Very good all-round entry.

Shigor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

A bit hard to play on desktop, I'd guess on tablet it would be much better.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Simple, but amusing :) It's a bit hard to play with the mouse, though.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

How you connect this game with theme?
If I have only 1 chance to win or lose, why I able to replay

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Nice game, art also very good, would fit perfectly on tablet.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice style! I was terrible at it, but I still feel like it could have been a bit more fast paced and fluid. Music was nice, but not sure how well it fitted. Still, it was cool and I enjoyed playing it. (Definitely well-suited to mobile platform, I'd say go for it!) I didn't find the theme to be very present, but hey, it wasn't in my case either ;)

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. The game was made for mobile phones indeed, my teammate and I chose that path as a challenge : can we make a short but polished mobile game in 3 days ?
However we finished so close to the deadline didn't think about adding keyboard support. Is this authorized to add this after the deadline, as a port (if we don't change anything else) ?

@SilentBunny -> if you read this, please catch me up on twitter @ResonantCraft or here in the comments, if you have the time. Normally, reloading the game should be sufficient to make the loading work. Did this happen on chrome (desktop) ?

@rafael : that's unfortunately a tradeoff we had to take to make the gameplay more engaging -> the enemies become stronger and even have a new pattern after a couple of waves. We simply didn't have the time to add multiple skins.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Does seem to work. It just hangs at a box on in the window.

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Indeed, we investigated this issue and it seemed to be Firefox related. We just fixed it so now it should work.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Very professional graphics. Loved the gameplay :)

tiopalada says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Great work, as you said before, we wen't for pretty much the same basic idea! Hahahaha I really dig the art style and the gameplay, it is really fluid!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Took me a couple of rounds to get in to the rhythm of it, then I was ronin'in like a pro! Great graphics and music

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Nice job on this - wish there were some keys mapped to the buttons (and arrow keys for swipes) as it's a bit tricky with a mouse, but excellent overall. Would be nice to see this included as a mechanic in an rpg :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Simple & addictive game, this can be a awesome mobile game. Good job :D

allanrw says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice game, soo much fun!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Really solid mobile game! I can totally see this working out! Plan to release it? Great visuals, perfectly simple mechanics. I would suggest having a bit more variations in "slide patterns" when doing the killing blow since that part was pretty easy. Other than that, it's a great, polished, fun small game!

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Very cool. I'd like to point out that the sliding part is a bit misleading with the arrow and the hand disconnect. Make the hand move on top of the arrow and it'll be more clear to get :)

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I tried playing on my PC, and while I enjoyed the visuals and the music, I quickly got frustrated with the controls.

So then I pulled it up on my phone, and it was quite an awesome little game. Definitely one of my favorites. My best score was 1085. I have one suggestion:

Try and eliminate the need to use virtual buttons for player control. I played on an iPhone 5, and occasionally missed the buttons, but moreso, having to hit the button took my eyes away from the enemy. If you could implement an all swipe fighting interface, I think the game would be stronger.

I hope you keep working on it because it definitely has potential.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:59am

Infinity Blade meets Japan: I'm in.

I loved the game, if you ever expand it with new combos, enemies and mechanics send me a message. Awesome work, keep it up!

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:31am

Really polised game! I like a lot the graphics. It's also perfect to play with a digital drawin tablet ;)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:26am

Wow, that's very polished. And enjoyable. At first I though it was all defending then attacking, but sometimes you have to attack when the other samurai is charging. And of course, the one hit ko slash swipe is really cool :D
The music blended in perfectly.

dudsen says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Hard to play without swipe controls. But its made for mobile anyways, so its a quite solid game! As Zatyka said, the Virtual buttons could be replaced with touch gestures indeed. Unfortunately the relation to the theme isn't clear to me as well :/

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:15am

Good animation, not just for UI but also the UI. Good production value.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I love the music in this, a really nicely polished entry - enjoyed this a lot! Rated highly. :)

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Very polished! Fun too. I'd say as it is I'd get bored with it too quickly for a mobile game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]