December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lonely Crewman

by nkling - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a lonely crewman, with no crew. You must manage the ship on your own to find the exit points. Navigate using the map,the steering levers and engine. If you run into a wall your ship will spring a leak that you will need to fix and mop up.
Controls:
movement: wasd
e: interact,pickup
q: drop item
Notes:
-Stand facing an object in order to pick them up/interact.
-Wrench fixes holes
-Mop cleans water.
-The Submarine will sink if 75% of the ship fills with water.
-The steering controls will not operate if covered in water.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33am

Really liked this one. I like the stress infusing "OMG I DONT WANT TO DIE" feeling I get on this one.
Love the art style, animation and gameplay feels smooth. Couldn't interact with any of the items except the steering wheel and the map. Mop and engine didn't work for me =/ Still, great idea!

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27am

After Windows 8 having a bitch fit about the exe file, I Spent far too much time cleaning up after myself. I'm a worse janitor than I am a pilot. Fantastic little game and my favourite I've seen so far.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:15am

There are some glitches in the collision detection. I can't walk between parts of the ship sometimes but I really like the graphics, the gameplay is fun and intense. Quite a hard game i must say.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice I crashed so often before i got the idea to change the direction. Nice Game... Poor lonely little guy... Hight stress factor. Is there a way to walk through the water? I get stuck after steped into it :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:19am

I love the graphics but I'm not good enough and I always die xD Good job!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:22am

Awesome graphics! Nice plot and mechanics. Like this one.

Norgg says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I managed not to sink! :D

Fun and nicely challenging game.

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:22am

Wow, a really great game. It gets quite hectic once the ship hits a wall. Very high difficulty. I liked it a lot, not least because of the fantastic graphics!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:32am

Whoa, great graphics for the sub and main character. The water needed better sprites, and there were some weird collisions. But playable and enjoyable. I lost my wrench in the water so many times xD
The theme's implementation with only one crewman doing all things was really good.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Beautiful pixel art.

Noyb says ...
Jan 20, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Great work for jam limits! Pacing the ship's speed is a difficult design issue: too slow and the player spends long periods of time waiting, too fast and you make it more difficult to recover from mistakes, which is where most of the interesting mechanics show up. Would love to see this developed further.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]