December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO RocketFist

by _Rilem - Jam Entry

Enter the wasteland and destroy the evil robot army with your Rocket Fist! You've only got one though, so be on your guard when you send your Fist out to bring the pain!

RocketFist is a mix between top down shooter and roguelike. I didn't have enough time to make a random level generator so you'll have to do with the 15 levels I made.

Controls are described in the link.

The game probably works best in Chrome, but will run fine in all modern browsers.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Overall(Jam)4.25
#8Graphics(Jam)4.66
#10Audio(Jam)4.15
#17Fun(Jam)3.97
#36Mood(Jam)3.82
#55Innovation(Jam)3.57
#60Theme(Jam)3.57
#167Humor(Jam)2.80
#1639Coolness17%

Comments

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Very good game, really amazed it's only 72h. The gameplay is very good, the art is fantanstic and also is the audio. Confratulations.

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Crazy awesome character designs. The rocketfist seemed a bit unresponsive when using via rapid succession, but allowing it to combo multiple times on the return was a nice touch.

Erik Örjehag says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Great feel and well polished! Good job!

Nardom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

The gameplay feels amazing. I love it overall, well done! The music and sound make it feel complete, combined with a lovely art style that feels very smooth.

I rate it a 6 out of 4 scarab bars with a few game of the year awards sprinkled on top.

drentsoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Loved the music.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Really nicely put together.

taaboo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Graphicly its a stunning game! The you only get one theme was in there. as one hit would do the trick of murdering you. It was realy fun to play although I din't get to use the upgrade system of that shady dealer in the start as I was loosing nuts and bolts later in the game. Its realy skill based. Audio was well done aswel.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Amazing graphics, amazing music, amazing gameplay.

This game is totally amazing.

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Congratulation, the game looks awesome and is really fun to play !

DarfnageL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Love the game! Safari had a bit of a tough time loading it the first time, might have just been a random thing. Easy to play, tough to master, I'll be playing for a while!

Aske says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

A great game :D. Fist good under the theme.
I may have found a bug, where the fist floats still in the air, when you spawn. I think it has something to do with the player spawning while the fist is retreating?
Anyway, i had lots of fun :).

Blinked says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Excellent job! I love the art style, the music/sound, and the gameplay is very fun and challenging.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Really nice work! Great work for such a short time, really dig the music and graphics, love the character design.

Couple of things that really frustrated me was that the camera doesn't follow the player all that much when moving up, so it's very hard to see what's going on off screen. Also she could really use more health.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Amazing graphics! Very solid entry.

michail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Awesome graphics and sound! What I don't like is that the rocketfist was sometimes turning weirdly and doing unnecessary loops, leaving me without defense for a long time. But it is still an excellent entry.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

This... game... is... so... awesome! And made only in 72h! Wow, instant follow :)

BluMist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:14am

Yep, ditto.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

Awesome game, I love all of it, good work !

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45am

this is a really polished game and works super fluidly, well done. if anything, i was wishing i could control the fist to hit more than one enemy

pwnedu46 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

Fantastic game!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28am

Minor complaints: you can walk out the bottom of the screen in some places, the 'losing half your screws on death' combined with the annoyance of returning to start makes upgrades difficult, and the drill fist is powerful to the point it seems like many levels were designed with it in mind.
The negative aside, I'm going to congratulate you on creating a wonderfully fun experience with only 72 hours to work with. The graphics are exquisite, the gameplay is fun, and there is a definite difficulty curve. While the music didn't stand out and it was a common interpretation of the theme, I am honored to give this game my first 5-star ratings of the event in Overall, Graphics, and Fun.

the says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31am

Lovely characters.

btwj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05am

Pure brilliance. How did you do this in 3 days!! The amount of polish is incredible. Kinaesthetics feel really good and the artwork is phenomenal. Music is good too. Very unique characters, excellent job

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

Very polished!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Really great graphics, and the gameplay was really sharp! Getting a good compo was really satisfying. Awesome job on all fronts! :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Wow this is awesome, really had a lot of fun with it. Loved the little red hopping enemies

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Nice execution on all points.
I found the restart to reach the dealer an interesting idea. Loosing half of the screws is a bit hard at high level.

DallOner says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25pm

One word, AMAZINGGGGG I LOVE UR WORK! Great job guys!

Ako says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

WOW! So polished! Can't believe you did this all in the time limit. Super impressive!!!!! Everything is top notch! I'm a newbie construct2 user so this makes my day!!! Just wish the upgrade guy was at the end of other levels...or could I have upgraded without going back?...damn I have to go play again. Congrats!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Good stuff, loved the music and the graphics. The fist was also a good touch.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Awesome looking graphics, the game mechanics seemed interesting, so did the upgrade part.

Unfortunately, it is one of those WASD game that is just unplayable on an AZERTY keyboard.

Congratulations for making the game, too bad you did not think about the international audience though.
Please put that option in (or use the ESDF layout) I really wish I could play that game a bit more/be able to really test it out.

_Rilem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Valid point Kyatric, never thought about people with an azerty layout. I did a quick fix, if you do a hard refresh it should work for you now.
I don't actually have an azerty keyboard but I'm guessing only the W and A keys need replacing. Please test. :)

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Yeah, it's great. What's more there to say? :)

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Indeed the fix works, and now I've been able to go further in the game, thanks a lot for that !
I did not get to go back to the shop to upgrade though, I guess I'm missing something.

Anyway thanks for the quick fix, it's indeed a nice and challenging game.
I'm not sure I completely get how the fist work exactly, I guess I'll get back to it later ^^

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Awesome graphics! Also simple yet very entertaining mechanics. All in all, a very good entry!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

It sort of blows my mind what some people can get done in a few days.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:18am

Very good game indeed, can't believe this is a 72 hour. Graphics are excellent, gameplay is dynamic. there is a little bit inertia on character, sound effects are excellent, there is an upgrade system, and player can improve his/her own playing skill too! Only one complaint: moving upwards or downwards is very dangerous because you can't see far ahead, enemies can jump on you easily :) Other than that, definately one of the best, if not the best, entry I have seen for this LD. Congrats :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

Awesome game, great graphics, great music. If I have to add something negative it would be that is not very innovative, but I think you can live with that, right?

Photon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:22am

Huh. That's pretty fun to play around with. Granted it got a little repetitive, but still... a guided-rocket fist? Sweet.

Guidance seems a little sketchy at times (Pro tip: when the fist is close to the mouse, click and unclick if it likes to get stuck in a loop), and until I got the drill upgrade it was much harder to progress. However, playing the stopwatch ability was quite fun too.

All around, a real solid entry. Great job!

_Rilem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:41am

Thanks for all of the comments guys. :)
Moving vertically is indeed too dangerous. I should have made the aspect ratio more square or just designed the levels horizontally. There's definitely room for improvement, but there's only so much you can do in 72 hours. :P I'm reading all feedback and making a list of learnings. :) I definitely want to do a full game with a camera perspective like this one. So this LD is a good test case for such a game.

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:46am

Great game! i loved everything about this game, even though I had problems with the WASD getting stuck, and having to reload the page once in a while.(maybe it was only my computer)

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:58am

Awesome Game ! Very fun to play, beautiful graphics, and very polished (although the game is quite difficult - but maybe that's just me! ;))

Congrats!

cdgugler says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:01am

Great game all around! I really enjoyed the feel the music gave it too!

tinyangrycrab says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:27am

Really, really good. Graphics are excellent, music excellent, gameplay simple but still fun and a new mechanic as far as I know. Simply excellent.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36am

The music makes me want to dance! Cool fx, aniamtion & controls. I think you should keep working on it ;)

loggs2 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25am

Really fun game! The art and sound were great as well. The fist was flaky at times, but that was just a minor issue in contrast with all the good.

blasmena says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:39am

I just can't believe this game, I'm seriously jealous of your skill. 5/5

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40am

Great graphics. Gameplay is fun! Little bit hard to steer the rocketfist, always just ends up circling the player if pointing at, and sometimes will miss even if it's coming straight from my body. Great entry!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42am

Very hard, but the art is phenomenal.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:09am

Amazing! Really nice visuals and music and the concept is pretty neat. The controls for the rocketfist are a bit wonky, for me at least.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:26am

Neat mechanic with the glove. Now I just need a rocket boot... and a rocket helmet... and a rocket cape...

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:27am

Fantastic entry, keep up the good work!

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11am

Great game! I had some qualms but they were relieved when I realised that you could purchase them as upgrades. If I still had a gripe though, it would be that returning to dealer essentially throws you back to the beginning (oh and your hitbox was a *tad* too big). Almost-perfect graphics, amazing SFX, Shady-as-hell dealer. You've got it all. You did well.

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:39am

Oh and I like that the character is a little girl. Little girls make the best main characters. :3

cesisco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Great game overall,and above all, a lot of fun!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Beautiful entry! Graphics and music are superb, and the gameplay idea is really interesting. I feel like the mechanics could be worked on of course but I really like the idea of being forced to "chain" attacks with the rocket fist, very cool. One of my favorite entries.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Great graphics, the fist was a little difficult to control at times, maybe fullscreen without scrollbar - I kept scrolling the page down to the instructions. Really dig the artwork, animation and music. Very smooth!

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:35am

Great job! Awesome visuals, audio and fun gameplay. Parts of the game felt a bit unfair, especially when moving forward, and it did get a bit repetitive, but I really enjoyed playing this!

popogames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:29am

Great looking game with a really fun mechanic!

Nezzhil says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:17pm

My first all five game of this ludum edition!

Amazing game, funny punch mechanic, cool character-robot desings and adicting music. Congratulations!

The only downside is that the character collision with the vertical walls and screen limits is a bit buggy and is very easy to be trapped in a wall.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:49pm

This could perfectly be a winner. Graphics, mood, control... all is unique. Congratulations.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:55am

I wasn't able to play because wasd isn't convenient on my keyboard layout. Pleas add arrow keys as well!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:58am

Wow fantastic art and polish, great job.

Dyn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:24am

Great game! Really fun and cool graphics. Good job!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:41pm

The robofist is awesomesauce!!! Really loved the idea And implementation. The drill fist made things slightly easier, and my favorite moment was comboing multiple of those small red thingies when they swarmed up in that level by sending my fist from behind the group and then Pow pow pow pow!

Cute graphics too, although the ground seemed a bit plain when compared to the rest of the detailed and cute assets.

The only thing i didn't like was that going back to the dealer resets your level progress.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Also I don't know if it's just me but i after 4-5 minutes the music stops and there is a loud beep sound for a while. Then the music starts again.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Finished the game and:
a. The music bug i mentioned before didn't happen again.
b. Finished the game without any upgrades. Absolutely loved the last few levels. Had to try the last level about 10-15 times but finally cleared it. Would be super to get more of this!!
c. Set my previous 4/5 ratings to 5/5 because this is the most fun game i've played out of all ludum dare games.
d. Will play again with the clock upgrade as I didn't try it yet. (I'm not a big fan of the drill one as it makes things too easy. I love super tough games done right, and this one is :D)

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Congratulations. Great game. Really enjoyed the mechanic of the fist. It was very satisfying when hits chained together. The art, sound and music were all top notch and complemented each other very well.
The sprites and environment are gorgeous and have a very authentic style without resorting to low res pixel art.
I would have preferred if the powerups were random drops that lasted for a small amount of time. When I upgraded to the drill I resented having to start over and I missed the original mechanic. Overall excellent work though.

_Rilem says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Thank you Arkrothe. :) If you like tough games you should try my Ludum Dare 26 entry, Potato Dungeon. It can be pretty tough at times as well. :p

HeyChinaski:
Having the upgrades drop randomly is a pretty sweet idea actually. :D

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:10pm

One of the best game I have seen in this LD. Very addictive!

GFM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:18pm

You can never go wrong with rocket punching!
The song was also great! And the cute graphics (and the punching XD) made me want to play this since when I first saw this during the jam.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:27pm

You had me hooked with the art style, and as far as fire and retrieve mechanics go, this has been my favorite take on it in this competition.
The game is too long for the amount of content created for it, though. After you introduce all the enemies and throw the player into a level with too many baddies for the first time, every level feels exactly the same. It's also probably a tad bit too difficult - dying at the end of a more massive level was really, really frustrating. Otherwise, the game looks, sounds, and feels amazing.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Very good entry. It's one's with production values like this that make me jealous.

Harsay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Amazing.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Game mechanics and art are awesome. Actually, the whole game is. Congratulations, I'd like to see more.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:05pm

GREAT game, specially visuals

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:49am

By far one of the prettiest and most polished games of the jam.

I didn't care for the one hit death, especially given how large the bounding boxes were - had to restart levels a lot for minor mistakes.

Senevri says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:47am

<VBG>

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:08am

One of the most perfect entries I've played this time, extremely fun, beautiful designs, catchy audio. Well done!

Pomb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:28am

Nice graphics! My rockets didn't want to shoot all the time, so I just got into the 2nd room and it was too unresponsive to fight anything.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:22am

Beautiful aesthetic and the gameplay is an enormous amount of fun. Music is really catchy as well!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Excellent game! Realy impressive to do that in 72h. It's realy fun and addictive, godd job !

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Great game! You awesome! Music, graphics, gameplay - all on the very high level. Thank you.

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Wow great work, full package with tons of polish!

Was I supposed to walk back to the beginning of the game to talk to that guy about upgrades? Walking wasn't fun enough for that. Preferred rocketing the next screen of enemies, never went back, if there are upgrade guys later I never made it that far.

LOVE the choice to insta-restart on fail, thank you for not wasting my time and not making me replay the same parts over and over in a jam game.

I felt like the mechanics were really good, but somehow juuust short of being a totally amazing strategy-type game. I did get into some combo hits by shooting further away guys and stacking mult-kills with the return of the rocket fist, but I never really got into the planning+execution feel that I wished for. Not a criticism really, this is great, but it almost reached a really amazing level with the mechanics.

iancarnevale says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:35pm

So much fun! The quality of everything is really impressive for only a few days of work.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:15am

Cool game!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:21am

Overall great game, wonderful job.

Taldius says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:03am

I was first amazed by Potatoe Dungeon, and I'm not disapointed by Rocket Fist. Good job and keep on doing good games! :D

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Great entry! I'll try to finish the game when I'm back home!

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Cool Game with nice sound and solid implementation. Well done!

anvoz says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:54am

It's amazing that the art and programming are made by one guy. Both are awesome. The music was also really good.

The death penalty was really painful at the beginning. After full upgraded, I still got some trouble with later levels.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Amazing entry! I think a good addition would be a combo system.

ketzer says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Congratz on finishing this in 72hours, pretty impressive, Top10 Entry :)

good stuff: amazingly polished graphics, smooth music, sound (and soundfeedback for offscreen dinos helped alot)

mediocre: leveldesign(besides the pierceable walls nothing fancy), gameplay(only 1 weapon(-), 3 very different enemies(+), no endboss(-), good hit/kill-feedback(+))

bad stuff: upgradesystem, beeing forced to restart at lvl1 when buying upgrades, the possibility to kill alot of enemies with rocket offscreen, no levelborders at some points

loxo says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Overall great game, looks very polished! Graphics, audio and the created atmosphere are incredible. Only the difficulty is rising too sudden. The first few levels are too easy, I think.

somepx says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

So good! One of the best (if not THE best) Jam entries! :D

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Very nice game! Loved the art style, the music and the gameplay concept :) The 'combo's you can make feel really gratifying for the player.

The only issues I found is that I never got to spend my Screws :/ I saw the store on the first level and then never saw it again. I dunno If I didn't go as far as I needed to to get to him again, but I cleared a good amount of levels and never saw him again.

Overall a really good game! Would like to see a post-jam version with Random Generation and more stuff/enemies! :)

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:50am

I like the graphics, it's well polished!
A little hard but very fun, nice job :)

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Wow, you make us all look bad! This is really high quality! Thanks for the great game.

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Really great work. I didn't see how I could upgrade my fist because I never got back to the dude at the start. Well balanced and challenging. Some levels allowed for staying put and rocket fisting a lot of enemies without them noticing me, so maybe rocket-fist range vs enemy vision needs some calibration. But in all, a very complete game.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Great gameplay, the artwork is amazing ! Congratulations !

Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Super fun. Its actually quite hard. It reminds me of a megaman type world in its style. Sometimes I find it easier just to stand still and kill everything rather than move. Moving can quickly cause your character to be overwhelmed.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Amazing work on this. Great concept and great gameplay. And an impressive amount of polish. This is easily one of the most complete games I've come across so far in this LD. Great work!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:17pm

this is going to sound wrong, but I want to marry this game. at least have a romantic date with it, followed by a night of sweet and passionate lovemaking.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Very cool. Caught your postmortem, and was a little bummed that you weren't planning on continuing it. Love teh character design.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Super polished game. Great job!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Really fun and absorbing game. It felt like using some game console thingy. Very nice graphics, even if the floor was a bit spartan. I found it hard to play and wish the bullet wouldn't keep returning to me when I killed someone. Was I missing a key or something?

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very fun to control the fist, challenging enemies and the upgrades all enhance the gameplay. Nice art, and it's impressive that this was made in javascript.
My only complain would be... well I've been playing the game for quite a while, and I was hoping for a boss, or an ending... or at least a level counter... or am I missing something?

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

Nice game. I really like the projectile design and theme usage. Art is superb.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:11am

The game seemed to lag quite a bit, and I don't think I got the full experience. Which is a shame because this looks fantastic.

dudsen says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

Instant winner.

Bugs :
Other than mentioned before, the music started not in the beginning but in the 4-th level or so. But what I heard then was damn good ;)

More than this, the character walked all of sudden to the upper screen itself. couldn't do anything about it but to restart.

Apart from that, it's a hell of a game. Nothing else to say. Looking forward to your next LD submission!

antila says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Great stuff, I'd be surprised if this didn't place top 10!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

We had similar ideas, but, man, I loved your game, my favorite so far!
The mechanic is pleasent, the art is good, the music is wonderful and the effects satisfying.
5 stars!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I really like your game. Here are some things I encountered. At first, I often move the mouse out of the screen to kill enemies which are not visible yet. But while doing so, I interact with the website, dragging the logo around. Secondly, I often ran into enemies, because your view is so limited. And thirdly, it gets a bit frustrating if you try to kill an enemy and the rocket starts flying in circles around him, because you stay with the mouse cursor on him. The graphics are really well done and the music fits well, too. Nice job!

Nelien says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:19pm

An excellent, amazingly polished entry: played all the way to the end and gave top marks on fun and graphics. My experience was only a bit hindered by some bugs here and there: enemies shooting me from the outside, the fist clipping under roofs etc. but nothing gamebreaking.

A minor fix you could still do under the rules, I'm sure, is to make sure that mouse & keyboard release events get propagated to the canvas even when the mouse is hovering outside: I was stuck going down, or my fist was stuck flying quite a few times because of this.

Again: great entry! I would play the crap out of a full version of this on my phone :)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:52am

I really got no clue how you put this off in 72 hours.
There are no words for how impressed I am lol...

Very good job. I hope you will make a post-jam game out of it. I really see potential!
If you ever do this, please message me ^^

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:15pm

The best entry for this Ludum Dare! All fives!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Very fun but I found it a bit grindy at times. Loved the art and music.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:13am

Didn't saw that sandy background as on screenshots in firefox 25, instead only black.. Other than that it was playable. Nice music, graphics and controls.. gameplay is little bit repetitive :-)

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Apart from the fact that you couldn't see the enemies all that well when moving up, it felt really polished and complete.

Really enjoyed the graphics and the audio, and the gameplay felt good. This was a lot of fun. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]