December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

FinalDefender

by Faust - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I don't have much time this weekend, so I end up with a tiny shooting game.

Control:
Up, Down, Left, Right: Move the ship
Space: Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Theme3.30
#534Humor2.16
#740Audio1.63
#744Mood2.40
#817Graphics2.22
#829Fun2.35
#859Innovation2.26
#881Overall2.48
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Didn't manage to win but really fun & interesting to play !

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Nice idea, good for make in to final stage of a shooter.
The shape of enemy boss reminds me the "Stone-Like" in Radiant Silvergun or Ikaruga.

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

Love the idea, even more because is not just shooting the missile is using the environment and even the ship itself to cause damage! Really liked it!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18am

I died many time and finally figuring out that you should rely on those meteor instead of missile : ) It's will be even better if you add an option to quick restart.

Jean Phenix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Fun. I liked the 3 endings, especialy the one where you kill yourself to win. I don't think I have ever see this in a shoot'm'up. The hitbox is a bit big (or maybe I'm just bad).

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:59pm

reallly nice idea xD

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I was able to get the asteroids to run into the enemy and I assume thats what we have to do. Could use some more sound effects. I was not able to beat the game but I could get the ship to its red health phase.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Needed a restart option badly! Some music would've been good too!
But it's pretty neat otherwise.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:11pm

The name caught my attention but it wasn't that good. Innovation wasn't much but the dynamics were fluid. Well I had fun anyway playing it...

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:25am

wow! it's stick me trying but i can't win. I'll play again later. It's a great idea!
It would be good to put a restart option :)

atombrot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:46pm

+1 for quick restart... First I needed some time to find out the asteroids hurt the enemy...

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:44am

The only one missile lol ?!
Pretty hard and challenging , good job! :D

x70x says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Overall I think your mechanics are solid. Took me a while to figure out what to do, but it is an interesting take on the theme.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

that is shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii.............., never mind. Would have been better with a restart button, Since you die so easily

Xanjos says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Harder than it actually looks but still an interesting game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]