December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Goodbye Galaxy

by EdoMiyamoto - Jam Entry

Warning: NOT FINISHED AT ALL

I recently buy some assets in order to help me make games, so this weekend was the perfect occasion to try this out.

There is not so much to do. You can see what I managed to make in two days, break some stuff and talk to NPC. For those interested, this is the story so far:

During 2013 I was making a lot of tests, experimenting with small mini games, doing contests and stuff. For 2014, my aim is to fully complete Chez Angelo and Two Boats Crashed, games you guys liked the most, AND I will also work a lot on this one, Goodbye Galaxy, because it will be my main project for 2014. Want to join the fun ? Feel free to let me know, any help is welcomed.

Also, thanks for testing, and merry christmas !

Edit: To be clear: none of the 3d models were creating by me , that's why I'm in jam this time ! In the other way, I had fun retexturing, making the music, voices, sounds effects, level design, particles and stuff !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Amazing amount of work, not sure how much you did but cool nonetheless

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:57pm

@reecpj thanks, I wished to have make something with it but heh it's for the next time :) Except 3d models and some textures I've done quite a lot

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Taking in account that this was made in such a short amount time hours, the scope is really impressive. I guess the purchased material simplfied the workflow? If you had restrained yourself a bit and not gone for such a grand plan, I think you could have made a really nice game. Good work, nonetheless :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:42pm

@kyyrma well it took me forever to make the voices/animations/subtitles thing to work correctly, now I have a good base for future work !

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Good work! This could really go somewhere when it's fully fleshed out.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Amazing what you were able to in this short period of time. Nice atmosphere and graphics!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:57pm

not sure where you are going with this, but nice enough piece of work.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Probably the most ambitious entry I've seen (I'm guessing the 3d models you bought helped reduce the workflow a bit). It's a shame that it's not complete (as you have mentioned) but you've managed to create a really engaging atmosphere with the audio and story. Definitely looking forward to the fully completed version.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Wow very complex game here! O.o i tho i got lost in some kind of desert but i realize i got out of the map xD i found some kind of cave where it lead me out LOL Great work! continue doing this game i see a lot of potential :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]