December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Loops of Fate

by Symmeteer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple puzzle game where you guide your avatar through tracks.

I favored completion over content, so there are a bunch of features I didn't implement: more interesting levels, state-based music, and different abilities for each avatar. Look for these in future versions!

Post-compo changelog:
- The fourth level (pictured in the screenshot) was unwinnable - how embarrassing! So I added extra paths to ensure that level 5 (the best level!) can be accessed.
- The joints between tracks were a little hard to click in some places, so I tweaked them so that they were more precise.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#45Innovation3.88
#319Overall3.23
#320Fun3.14
#446Graphics3.02
#502Mood2.75
#719Humor1.74
#790Audio1.29
#803Theme2.31

Comments

aeveis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36am

very interesting, took a bit to get the hang of it but was able to figure out the puzzle. The ui is a bit unclear where to click, maybe if you could see a circle to click where the line is tangent?

agwblack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04am

Very nice. A load more levels and I could see this doing well on touch devices.

Some sound would have been nice. Also I thought the link to the theme was a bit tenuous. But great job overall!

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14am

Like the mechanic, but it's a bit frustrating when you are not sure which paths are open and the ball just starts looping around by itself, and can't properly close them because the button is too small and overlaps with others >_<

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29am

Interesting and clever mechanic! I had some trouble at the beginning to realise what I had to do, though, but after that the controls are really straightforward.

Nice! :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

So finally I had a chance to play this! :p
Is a very nice concept! :p I imagine it must have been a nightmare to implement the mechanics! :D

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Best idea of the month. You should elaborate on this!

celsyum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

very good idea

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Clever little puzzle, but would have liked more complicated levels. Also some ambient background music would really support this. Something very zen.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Cool concept, although I felt like the 'hit box' for the loops was a bit small. Still, pretty fun and creative!

Rhinan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Great concept! Love the idea. Didn't really get the link to the theme.

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Thanks for all the comments!

I wouldn't say it was a nightmare to implement, but it was tricky - it took some concentration and deep breaths to get the details down.

Yeah, the part that needs the most work is the mechanic's UI (showing where to click the tracks). I actually made the clicking circles smaller a couple hours after the competition, because when they were larger, some of them overlapped so much that each circle only had a few pixels of non-overlapping clickable space.

I definitely want to extend this game. I'll put my thinking cap on about the UI; the solution might be to simply design all the levels so that there are no problematic spots.

dcampos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53am

Very innovative concept. I too found it difficult to figure out where exactly to click in order to move the body between the tracks.

taocayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Fantastic game! I also see it doing well in touch devices :) it was great meeting you last night and hope you keep working on it!

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Clever game, I had some lag on Firefox.
Some music would have been cool ;'(
Anyway, this is what I want in LD games: a good idea!

noobsticks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01am

The concept was great. I'd love to see this fleshed out in a bunch more levels, maybe with an easier way to open/close paths. The whole connection to YOGO was tenuous at best, however. You only get one player? Most games only let you play one character...

frogcheese says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:11am

Short and sweet. Some clickable roads overlapped a bit in the UI, though, sometimes leading to my closing an earlier path rather than opening the one I intended to click. The link to the theme was more metaphorical than anything, but I guess that's okay too. I know my life occasionally feels like it's going through a series of different loops... though maybe it hurts the theme a bit that in this case I get to restart as many times as I like ;)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:44am

I quite enjoyed this! I somehow got through all levels through hit and try/backtracking from the finish though xD
This was very innovative, though the theme fit is a bit loose.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Too short and too easy! I wish I could play 100 more levels. Very pretty and relaxing in a way. Spend some time polishing and making levels and you can easily release this game! Would work especially well on portable platforms.

Static 64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:11pm

That's a fantastic puzzle mechanic. It took me a minute to figure out how the blocked paths are only blocked-one way (can go off but not on), but once I did, I realized how well-designed the game is. Great job! More levels would be awesome.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:50am

Very interesting game.
I would like to see more levels and how far you can go with this mechanic :D .

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:30am

Not bad!
Like the idea of puzzles but game is quite laggy.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I've enjoyed playing it. The game starts to feel a bit laggy on more complex levels but no problems aside from that. The main mechanic is pretty clever.

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I loved the idea, was looking forward to play this game since your first progress posts. Too bad you didn't have more time to complete it.

Photon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:06am

Pretty cool actually. I found it to be rather easy, but the concept is still a good one. Nice entry.

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:24pm

If the click precision was a bit more forgiving, this is something that you could put on mobile (I'm confident I can't tap with that precision). This is certainly something that would keep me entertained for some time.

cesisco says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Great concept, but with a new control scheme would be a lot better.Good Work!

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Interesting... A little confuse at start.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]