December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb has been defused

by SkyWolf - Jam Entry

Alright, i had A LOT to go through this weekend, but i couldn't miss a second Ludum Dare, so i HAD to do something and i did in a little bit over than 5 hours (yes, FIVE hours).

So, what did i manage to do in five hours? I wanted to do something that could merge the "You Only Get One" (chance) and the "10 seconds" of LD27.

You're in front of a bomb, you have 10 seconds (and you cannot afford any mistakes) to:
- search for the code
- open the lid, inputting the code
- reach for the scissors
- cut the right cable (the one NOT inside the bomb itself)

I've decided to not include source code for a simple reason: nobody could learn from it.
It's a 5 hours project, a MESS, nothing else.

Anyways i wanted to get involved in 28, so, here you go.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#130Humor(Jam)3.00
#174Fun(Jam)3.14
#175Theme(Jam)3.09
#178Mood(Jam)3.16
#210Graphics(Jam)3.42
#216Overall(Jam)3.19
#219Audio(Jam)3.03
#308Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Cool game. Whether you have enough time or not depends a bit on luck, but ah well, after a few rounds, I managed to consistently win. would probably be good as a hacking minigame within a larger game, like the hacking minigames in Alpha Protocol.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34am

I +1 errorage ! But I had fun doing it ! :)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37am

It was pretty frustrating because I took me a few tries before I knew which wire to cut.
I think if you had more time, this could be way more fun.

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:45am

great CS reference, really engaging and fun little game too!
Love the implementation of the theme, good job.
(also, the explosion sound FX are the best, haha)

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54am

Love it. Nice and simple, but really tense and effective bomb defusing game. And it made me laugh, your explosion sound hahaha! Great job!

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56am

Not too bad for 5 hours! Short but funny.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58am

cool, simple but exciting, makes me so into it!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice little game :) The explosion sound is hilarious!

lsdlive says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:47pm

LOL

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31pm

And all my stars goes to...the audio! I laughed a lot with the explosion sound! Very good game for only 5 hours. Good job.

drnick says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:54pm

lol

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:56am

That's quite a lot in only 5 hours! I got the same "random" number the first 5 or 6 times I tried. I still can't figure out what the correct wire to cut is after I open it.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:38pm

For 5 hours, this was amazing. If only this experience was expanded...

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:59pm

@angelk: it's the one NOT into the "do not open" box.
@Jgpicatoste: it very well might.

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Good effort. I just didn't like the luck factor too much.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:14pm

that was intense! I really liked how you had to work it out as you went along. Some particle effects on success would have been cool but the detonation was really great - enjoyed this one!

wezrule says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I kept trying to cut it in the center of the scissors, so took me a lot longer to figure out what I was doing

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:12am

Well done, man! That's quite fun for a 5 hour game and the mood is spot on :) I only wish you didn't have to click twice to check another piece of paper.

Dohan says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

As everybody says, the explosion SFX is great :)

Also, for it being done in 5 hours, it's a really cool minigame.

eskivor says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:57am

It's funny. For me, a similar spirit of the game "Prepare to meet thy god" I played the last month from an other game jam where you also have to turn off a bomb :
http://artgameweekend.com/prepare-to-meet-thy-god/

Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I like how you worked in both this and the last LD's themes.

Simple game, but well implemented and bug-free the time limit makes it nicely challenging. Not a whole lot of replay value once you've won, though.

spx says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:08am

Really impressive for 5 hours and motivating enough to give it several tries until you finally manage to win :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I died LOADS. Really good entry though! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

MrBlade says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Good game! Wonderful graphics, very simple yet straight to the point models, nice lighting. Cute sounds! Keep it up.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]