December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

HelpHim!

by pvp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help Him!

You play as a little ovni who just discovered the last human on earth.

Your goal is to protect him. Move your ovni with the mouse and try to keep Huma safe in your stealth laser.


Have Fun.

I didn't have time to remplace placeholder/add more art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#316Humor2.70
#473Graphics2.97
#598Innovation2.76
#618Audio2.24
#677Mood2.50
#700Theme2.51
#835Overall2.56
#891Fun2.20

Comments

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:21am

Good idea but this gamw is way too difficult, I played 5 times and he died after 1 or 2 second. This game is perfect with levels, you should start very easy to introduce the player to the game world and mechanis, than increse the difficulty

pvp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:24am

Thanks for the feedback!
Yeah about difficulty I was afraid of that ^^, but didn't even have time to make proper art and remplace those placeholder (intro) so not like I would be able to add that :p. My best try (after like 20-25 try) was 38.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

TDL my reflexes suck.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

way too hard from the beginning, but still a good concept.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

Agreed with everyone else, it's ridiculously difficult! My best was 6 seconds.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Wow it was so hard! A better learning curve would be much appreciated :) I understand tho. I always get super pro at games that I develop because of the hours I spend developing them, and then don't realize how hard they are, haha.

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

It's really difficult, a little delay, like 0.5 seconds before the guy gets melted would make it a lot easyer. Good work though

ajfischer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

This game is impossible... haha. Nice!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

Lol could only get up to 4

dopplex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

I wasn't able to last more than a second at any point - I'd die the instant the little guy moved left or right. I liked what you were doing with the graphics in the cut scenes, but wasn't able to see anything beyond those first few seconds.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Very brutal game, but pretty fun!

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

It's too bad I can't keep him alive for more than half a second. It seems like a fun game despite the difficulty.

Mocuto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

I really like the concept but the game itself was just too difficult. Maybe making the dude walk slower or adding a delay like someone else mentioned. I like the art and sfx though, and would really enjoy an easier version if you decide to continue working on this.

Afal says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:47pm

This game is pretty difficult. Lost instantly every time :(

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I just thought I would add to the "too hard" comments with saying literally as soon as he moved left or right he died for me. Haha. :P
I actually don't know how people managed to last a few seconds. :P
But I love the graphics and the sfx.

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Cool idea and VERY difficult! Well done

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:11pm

It's really hard, adjust the difficulty a bit, maybe a simple warning of incoming fire, would make the game awesome!

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Cool game but way too hard, I can barley survive

pvp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Reading those feedback... I should deserve the Award of the most difficult game ^^.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Like most others are saying, it is way too hard, which is sad because it is a cool concept. You should have made the spaceship wider, I think.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:57pm

haha.. god i suck at this.. nice concept tho..bit too hard for my old reflexes ;p

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:12am

Really super difficult! You should have a larger delay between exposing the guy and him getting killed! Nice graphics and mechanic, though, well executed!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:25pm

i helped-ish

psc1997 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:25am

Good concept and story ;-)
But it's too hsrd in my mind ( and I've using touchpad now :P )
I like this game ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]