December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Square Invaders!

by Idovoodoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It was just me, a 3 year old, 4 year old and 12 year old this weekend. They weren't interested in helping me (selfish kids :P). This is what I ended up doing. I had fun in between doing this and playing Barbie.

Instructions
------------
Little Square is back for another Ludum Dare! This time, he must protect his base from them naughty invaders.

YOU ONLY GET ONE.... COLOUR! You get to pick which one, although there is only a choice of three :)

Controls
--------
A/D = Left/Right
Space or Left Mouse= Shoot

To Do
-----
- Only had time to implement two types of enemy, need more!
- Add base repair
- Progression is just spawn rate, would be nice to add different size and shape worlds
- Fix enemy spawn positioning
- Fix enemy collisions

Cheers and I hope you like it.
@idovoodoo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#170Audio3.19
#229Fun3.29
#231Mood3.19
#315Overall3.24
#378Innovation3.07
#381Graphics3.14
#512Humor2.21
#778Theme2.38

Comments

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55am

Very cool! Like the atmosphere here, though I felt a little bit at a disadvantage with the amount of enemies against me. Awesome work!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

Nice overall style, but a little too hard maybe :) I could only last 4 waves. I am bad square :(

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

Good use of audio to alert to the presence of the nasty monster!

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

Sounded nice, and a nice twist on space invaders. Didn't really use the theme very much though. It did seem to be a bit short, maybe spawning the enemies slower would have been nice. The controls were odd too, would have liked space to fire, if I was using the keyboard.

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Crashes my Chrome browser every time. Plays fine in Firefox though.

Fun game, very intuitive to play, and with a smooth ramp up in difficulty as you go.

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Nice sounds and atmosphere, nice mechanic, gets a little overwhelming fast :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Awesome work, a space invaders remixed. Good use of audio & cool graphics. Congratz !

pet_snake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04pm

the game was fun and the way you had to defend the full sphere was pretty neat. the graphics looked and felt nice, and same with the audio.

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice variation on Space Invaders/Missile Command that I really enjoyed... until they blew up my base! :~)
It's a bit of a disadvantage that you can't see all enemies at once, I often didn't know which way to go to kill the nasty bleeping enemies before they fired. Also nice music and sfx.

Top score: 650ish, wave no. 5

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Very good game. Nice Space Invader remake and twist. Gratz !

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice gameplay

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Something really pleasing about seeing those squares pop.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09pm

So simple, so great. Absolutely love this game. I think the link to the theme is a bit weak, but the game itself is awesome.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Aww this is a sweet entry! :-)
I like games on "round planets"! :) It was quite challenging though! :D

I didn't really understand what's the purpose of the colour, though! XD

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:34am

Really like the idea of this, not sure why but there's always something about moving around in a circle or on a sphere that's interesting. I'd love to see this polished up into something bigger! Very fun, lots of possibilities going forward with it :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:34am

Good gameplay! But this concept was developped in the last LD

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:37am

Very cool! Awesome work! Nice innovation to space invaders!

henrykun says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:46am

Awesome game! very nice idea although a little bit difficult but fun :)

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Oh. So that type shoots through my planet.

#@($&@#$(&!@#$*@#()%*@$(&%(@&#$(D-:! lol

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Great audio, great game, good job.

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:14am

Ability to jump was surprised me! Great game. My score is 525. Hope, it's not bad )

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:18am

i did not really see the big idea because all it is not a if you could have prevented them from attacking, but like the graphics

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:39am

Nice game ! The concept is innovative I love it ! Really challenging !

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:29pm

This is fantastic but a little weak on the theme. The only thing I would change is your fonts. It looks like you are using bold times roman or something. I think you should go here for inspiration: http://www.thealmightyguru.com/GameFonts/Series-Retro.html

murilo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:19pm

The art and sound is pretty cool. It felt kind of slow. But overall it's pretty good idea for a quick game!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:20am

Great little game, but a bit hard to progress beyond wave 5. I think I liked green the best. Cool soundtrack.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Awesome moody game!

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

If this is a compo entry, where's the source?

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

Theme is represented only superficially -- it would have been cool if the color you picked affected the way the game played somehow. Core gameplay is pretty good -- if you took this further I'd suggest adding additional enemy types, some type of weapons power ups or defensive power ups. Pretty decent game!

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Nice gameplay and visuals, I enjoyed this game, my best score is 580!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]