December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Hotdog Parable

by SunShiranui - Jam Entry

You and a friend made a bet: can you build a fast-food empire with just a dollar and an hotdog shack?

- Controls:
Use the menu on the right to restock items. Use the menu on the left to develop new upgrades!

Warning: There is no preloader right now, so please wait a bit for the game to load (it's about 1MB).

Made by:
Sun @SunShiranui - Design, Programming
Giuseppe Giordano @whitesora92 - Programming
Daniele Piscitello @danipiscitello - Art
Matteo Gagliardi @tulblut - Music

The Tea Sipping Company @ http://teasipping.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#47Graphics(Jam)4.29
#47Overall(Jam)3.78
#52Fun(Jam)3.63
#98Mood(Jam)3.49
#99Humor(Jam)3.19
#203Theme(Jam)2.99
#208Innovation(Jam)3.03
#219Audio(Jam)3.03

Comments

drkrunk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I don't know how to get more hotdogs.=[

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Nice simple concept. I just couldn't figure out the controls immediately, but I found the shop menus eventually.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Use the menu on the right!

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:46pm

awesome!, I liked the way the game goes. the menus are hard to find, tho. It took me some time to discover there was menues on both sides of the screen.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Wow! That's so adorable!
Gameplay is attractive, I walked trough it with fun. Art is also cool, I liked the most the mood of the night. Soundtrack isn't probably the best part of the game, but it's still good.
Good game :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Simple & enjoyable. First entry i played till the end i think :) Congrats!

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Hey, I have completed the game! :D

I love this kind of game, I love building up my little empires in sim games. However, this game is a little too easy for me. I managed to win it in few minutes. But, I can't ask for more as this game is made in a very short time. The most fun game I had played, I guess :D

drkrunk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Okay figured it out the edges slide out allowing you to buy meals, adverts and research new item.

Very cool game, I really enjoy these types of games.=]

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Wow...amazing. I beat it!

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Great game! My favourite so far. The music loop isn't perfekt and there is bug if you research burgers before you place your first add.

But great work!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very fun game! Nothing new but with great art, nice music and some jokes attached.

It'd be better if it was harder, it was very easy and I had all the upgrades developed on the 8th of January.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Too bad we can't continue playing it after end :( Like other said. Hard to find the menus at the beginning. Also, what does "P", "C", "O" and "Q" means ? And how are they used in the game ?

I really enjoyed it anyway and I'm glad I saved the world :)

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Nice game, hope you will get more review, because it's really fun. the start is a bit slow but when you manage to get your first 100$ things get easier. congratulation for the art and music too.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Best game I've played so far!
Absolutely brilliant :) So polished.!

Didn't quite get that R P O Q thing, but it's not crucial

kutullu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Best game I have played so far. No really difficult, but you could easily expand the idea for the mobile market.
Love the graphics and sound! :)

Cheers, Marcus

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Really smooth and polished game, art is amazing, text are funny, and i love cookie-clicker like.
Thanks guys.

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Cool art style !

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Gorgeous game! Very polished for the amount of time it was made in. There's only one tiny bug (I think it's a bug) where it doesn't the timer doesn't advance if the menu's closed.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I really like the art style. Gameplay is fun too.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:07pm

I really like the graphics and audio of this game. And the gameplay is really solid too. Only tip I want to give you is to give more visual feedback. Like a little green dollarsign popping up when you make a sale.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Completed the game and enjoyed it a lot too :). But i've got to say that the background music felt out of place. Other than that, a great game.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

The controls took some time to discover, but the game is pretty decent and the art is great!

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Very nice-looking

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

very nice game! i like this graphics so much!

EatThePath says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Played it to completion, pretty fun management game. Some little quibbles: It seems that if you run out of money and hotdogs you lose, even if you've got a hotdog shipment coming. That's a bit irksome. Also, it'd be nice if there were tooltips for what the numbers in the top meant.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

At a few points I suddenly ran into negative money and wasn't sure why? I hadn't spent any money for it to happen, which was frustrating.

At one point the left side bar went behind the buttons on the right side bar. The hamburger philosophy button also gets hidden as it's over too far on that side of the screen.

It took me a while to realise that 'researching hamburgers' meant purchasing the hamburger button - I thought that was a one-off upgrade.

Having a pause button would also help immensely in a time-based game.

Overall a job well done, the operatic music was a really nice touch and I like the way the day/night animations were implemented. Good work guys!

Yngar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

That was really awesome. Played to the end. The art was incredible!

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Maybe I did something wrong, but I never got enough to get to any upgrade. It seems I got robbed every night (or at least money reset then). I kind of liked watching the game play itself though.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I finally understood the hamburger philosophy.
I really appreciated the elaborate background (story, events), it really gives some life to the game.
Graphics are pretty.
Maybe some more infos about the stats, and what upgrades really do, could make the gameplay perfectly clear.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Needs some more info displayed to the player about what's happening and what does what but I very much enjoyed my time with this game.

Great sprites, fun music, decent challenge, and a very innovative take on the theme.

Great work all around!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Took a while to get into it and the menu animations are WAY too long. But it got fun after a while. Great look!

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:46am

I took the flyer too early and lost, well done

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:57am

I really liked this game but i am a sucker for these types of games. I like the idea of finance in the "You Only Get One" theme.

Thanks for such a fun entry! I hope you improve upon it!

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:03am

the side menus are HIDDEN. it took me quite some time.

VERY addictive tough!

runvs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:37am

Great Idea, i like the gameplay!

bensoto says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:38am

once i found the menu it was fun.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:40am

Great graphics, great gameplay and addicting qualities. This game is awesome.

(Ed è bello vedere una entry fatta da compatrioti!)

pwnedu46 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:43am

Nice game, though I would have liked to keep playing after the end.

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Really nice game, I got stuck in front of my screen for (at least) half an hour. It's so addictive. The art is good, the music's cool but gets repetitive after 10 minutes... However, there is no strategy in this game, you just have to spam-click all the buttons. Money is never a problem, I don't even see how it is possible to loose ^^ It could have been more challenging.
Also I didn't wanted this popup to end the game when I won xD

Anyway, that was a lot of fun. Congratulations !

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:41pm

My favorite thing about this game is how it feels alive in a way. The day/night cycle, the hot dog van driving to your stand, the random events.

Meanwhile, my biggest grief is that I seem to get robbed (or something) all the time and there's no way for me to prevent the sudden losses of money. That just seems like a design flaw to add fake difficulty. It's keeping me from getting anywhere at the start for a long while. Not quite gamebreaking but super annoying.

The overlapping menus are a bit ugly too, not a good use of the limited screen space. Otherwise it looks and sounds good.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Very very good! The main complaint I have is that when opening the right menu it sometimes/often clicked something while expanding, which was particularly annoying when I unintentionally buy flyers or something.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:53pm

This has been possibly the most addicting game I've played so far this Ludum Dare! If you developed this further I would probably buy it!

Before Light says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Thank you for this game, I enjoyed it so much.

ViliX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:29pm

4/5 for comfy graphics :)

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Once you get rolling, it's pretty easy, but I guess challenge isn't quite the focus of the game anyway. The music was... capitalistic? which is perfect. Really fun. One of the best games from the jam I've played yet.

Nelien says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:58pm

The only LD sim game I actually played all the way through and beat, so that's saying something. Didn't really expect all of the moon stuff, it was really surprising and fun in a very quirky way. Very good game, great job, guys!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:52am

Really nice entry! I won, I feel like an entrepreneur now!

michail says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Nice sim game, It was fun to save the world by selling hot dogs :)

AmmoreChicks says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Really good graphics, nice game, wonderful entry.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:03pm

This game hit me by surprise. Did not expect that. but it clearly made it to my top 5 of this LD :)

Very well done and addictive :D

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:03am

Very cute. You've put together quite a cheery little experience.
From a gameplay standpoint, I want to say that it doesn't really feel like there are enough meaningful decisions, or really enough to do at any given moment, but, in the end, the charm of the world goes a long way.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]