December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Black Friday

by lasergans - Jam Entry

It's Black Friday, and Justin released his new Album! But there's only one left!
So get it! Hurry to the Mall! But don't get stuck in the masses of customers...




We (5 first semester students) made this game totally from scratch with Java.
Because this was the first LD for most of us, we had a lot of problems. So this
game differs a lot from our planned one. But we're looking forward to join LD again! None the less: Have fun playing! :)

Greetings from Tuebingen (Germany) to the LD community all over the world! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Humor(Jam)3.06
#293Audio(Jam)2.78
#387Theme(Jam)2.39
#491Mood(Jam)2.00
#505Graphics(Jam)2.06
#519Fun(Jam)1.89
#535Overall(Jam)2.06
#536Innovation(Jam)1.83
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22am

Congratulations on finishing your first LD! Interesting idea, but the movement feels a bit slow - feels like I should be wanting to run around corners at breakneck pace to score my new album ;)

Microfrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22am

Apparently everybody is your granny (or is it uncle?)? XD

lasergans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42am

@Microfrog:
We're all a big family ;)

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:52pm

It was cool, but the movement really just wasn't good :(

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice minigame for your first LD! This isn't match the theme but anyway well done finishing it!

Jerre says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I think you guys accidently got the wrong theme :P (Bieber 4Evah <3)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I found gameplay not very interesting, and controls were quite frustrating. I don't understand why I have to press one direction for more than a secont to move in that direction. This combined with tight corridors makes the game hard to play and not fun. Still, music is great and loved the humor :)

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:34pm

congrats on your first LD! that is so great that you did it! it would be great if the hero moved faster, its really slow feeling

f7f5 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:38pm

62.5 seconds. Congratulations on finishing a game on your first LD!
The movement is not fluid and it's difficult to enter tight corridors. It could use some more gameplay elements to provide a more interesting challenge. But it's a funny idea and I like the music.

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:25pm

That's the first Justin B game for me, nice first entry. As some have noted before, the controls aren't very responsive. I also tried to walk between two shelves, one tile wide passageway. It seemed like there would be enough space, but I couldn't get through. Maybe one has to hit the exact right position. It would be better if the game allowed for some errors and pushed the player in place.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:34am

Cool entry, great job for your first time!! Its hard to walk however. I included this in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 28 Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/EG4kRkM_i_s

timothyolt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Graphics are a little repetitive, but i was able to ignore that. My only real concern was the collision/movement. If that was a bit more smooth the game would have been a lot easier to control. Great puzzle though, and congrats!

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The controls are a bit awkward but the graphics and humour are good. Congratulations on your first LD

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:38am

Liked the music but moving was unfortunate. Congrats on finishing a game though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]