December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One World

by Calahagus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple decision making game where you take on the role of the head of a corporation trying to be a pioneer of interstellar travel before the earth is taken by pollution. Each turn, you only get one of each of four resources, which can be taken away one-by-one if your investors aren't interested in your project. Furthermore, financial hardships and the ever increasing threat of pollution keep the game exciting, and difficult.

I hope you enjoy the game, and maybe even win! I do hope it isn't too hard, and I'd appreciate feedback in that regard. This is my first game in LOVE2D, and I'm super happy with what I've got done!

Music and sounds taken from freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Audio3.35
#192Theme3.46
#198Mood3.27
#268Overall3.29
#309Graphics3.29
#399Innovation3.04
#577Fun2.75
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Cosrnos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30am

I would love to see more! I feel like this is worth polishing a bit :)

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45am

What version of LOVE is this targeting? I extracted the .love file from the source package and couldn't get it to run on Linux. From line 346 of main.lua, I get "bad argument #5 to printf1 (string expected, got nil)"

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

Art is pretty cool, despite it being so simple.
Very nice :)

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Love the aesthetic. Couldn't get it to run unfortunately. My antivirus seems to be taking out LOVE.dll

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Interesting game, and I feel like it could definitely be worth expanding! Thought the mechanics worked well and the visuals were cool. But my favorite part was the soundtrack - it totally captured the theme for me. Great job!

bttf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

Aesthetics are well done in this game. Difficulty was a little hard for me though ... Took me a couple tries to get the hang of it (realizing I needed to keep investors to make progress) ... Haven't beat it yet. But I do find the mechanics interesting though; kind of has a turn-based feel to it. Nice job!

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

I really liked this game. I was a little shaky on what each choice did but I finally made it to another world! There isn't just one!

ZXeno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06am

I think this sends a pretty clear message, and was very well done. The theme is extremely well interpreted and executed here. I absolutely loved it. This is a game that begs for more polish and a full release. :) Very, very well done!

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57am

I loved the idea, but really didn't care for the implementation of the gameplay. I felt I had little idea what was a good thing to be doing when, or what order to do it in. The random events basically ruin any ability to prepare one thing, and then focus on others, as they can easily wipe out several days of work.

I may have developed a greater understanding of how to do well in the game if I played longer, but I didn't feel compelled to, and the extreme random effects make it feel to me like the game is out to get me.

Still, it has a nice premise, and I liked the simple yet pleasing graphics (apt for a game of this sort) and controls.

Calahagus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:34pm

@sknoslo Built for 0.9.0, do you have a different version than that?

Calahagus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Dec. 17, 5:00pm est: Fixed the fact that the game was un-lose-able to pollution, and a typo in the random pollution check.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:51am

Can't start it:

Error

main.lua:14: Could not open file sprites/noFunding.png. Does not exist.

Traceback

[C]: in function 'newimage'
main.lua:14: in function 'load'
[C] in function 'xpcall'

Calahagus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:55am

@TheWhiteLlama Should be actually fixed now.

honestcritic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:26am

1. i have no idea what any of the stats do
2. i did tech 10 turns in a row and got hit with -30% tech twice so what the fuck was the point?

VAMflax says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I liked the art. The UI needed an unavailable state for the choices though as I never knew which ones were available.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:05am

Nice game, but (currently) a bit unbalanced. I lost the 'eye' thingie really early and had no way to regain it...

jonask says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:58am

Now this... was truly enjoyable. You've definitely caught my attention, the music was positively lovely.

epb9000 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Despite the difficulty, I actually liked this quite a bit. Some of it isn't immediately intuitive and I doomed our people many times. The art was good, and the music was a nice piece for it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]