December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

BUTTERSLIDE

by Mnemusyne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BUTTERSLIDE tells the slippery adventures of a bread slice into the toaster. Arrow keys to move, R or Space to restart if you get stuck for some reason. The game has 20 levels. You only get one direction to move in at a time. Made with Construct 2 Free.

Link to play: http://ad1337.github.io/Butterslide/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#56Fun3.69
#128Humor3.31
#143Overall3.54
#275Mood3.11
#317Graphics3.28
#375Audio2.76
#455Theme2.96
#565Innovation2.81

Comments

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:35pm

weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Cute! :D

Fun mechanics and cleverly designed levels, I like the progression. Music is fine, too, but it tends to get a bit repetitive after a while.

Nice entry, congrats! :)

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Yeah, it looks really cute :)

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I'm not the biggest fan of puzzle games but I found this one quite fun. I really liked the art theme you'd gone for. However, there seemed to be a few collision problems, moving in the direction of the wall you're on would make you glitch along it meaning some areas could by bypassed. Also, I preffered the levels were the camera didn't move. Goodjob overall, this was rather fun.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Made me hungry.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40pm

This game was simply fantastic. Nice graphics, simple yet compelling gameplay and quite a lot of good puzzles to solve. You've managed to put a whole lot of polish on this in such a limited time, really impressive.

The second to last puzzle was maybe a bit broken, but I did manage to clear it with some creative thinking. Some of the blocks on that level seemed to work incorrectly, as the Toast got stuck on the corners of the blocks.

This would be through and through 5/5 for me, except for the music which grew jarring after about 5 seconds. Still good job on featuring music as well.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Ahhhh those damn knives. Really good entry.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really fun, but made me want some butter. Levels were well designed and it was thoroughly entertaining :D

ittlebit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Fun, cute graphics, sweet sweet butter sliding.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Funny interpretation of this game idea. It even has scrolling! Music gets soon anoying, other soundeffects are cool.
Some kind of score or game over would add additional tension. I was not able to get further than the second knife-level. It seems to get too hard there.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I really like how simple this game is, and at the same time really addictive for some reason. Really cool game!

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Solid puzzle/reaction game. Music gets really annoying though and at least on my system (slow netbook) the buggy collision detection got me stuck in walls several times. I got stuck at the level where you meet three knives the first time as it seems impossible for me to do (I suspect cpu timing problems). Poor toast got knived a couple of dozend times!

midgard says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Cute & Funny! Great job mate.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Pretty fun. I liked the single screen levels better as it was easier to keep them all in my head.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

This is great. Like others have said, really impressive that you put so much polish on the game in such a short time. Works with the theme, great music, good visuals, and everything works well together.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Fun! Got really good when water started getting involved. Good art, but it would be better to restrict the bread to the individual square grids on the ground. Occasionally I hit corners.

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Funny! 4 overall.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

10/10

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Adorable look, simple and fun yet challenging game. I like it. Music got a bit repetitive though, hehe :)

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice music, feels like some merry/dark jingle :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Very fun!

Fervir says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Fun game, interesting puzzle elements.
Great job.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Cute game and clever use of a simple mechanic.

sumprunk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Really sweet! I like the move mechanic. You should try out the board game ricochet robots for an example of some really cool stuff you can do with that (if you haven't already). Did not like the knives though.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Fun, I always like these types of games, adding an element of timing with the knives made it get pretty interesting.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

good puzzler, played the whole thing.
In some levels I could glitch through walls (which helped a lot). Are the movement glitches on purpose e.g. when you move up and have a wall on top, you slightly move to the right. Similar behaviour with left / right when wall to the left / right

CLdogs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Simple game, music got irritating. Not bad though.

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Super cute! I was unable to get past all those knives though!

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

One of my favorite entries so far. Played all the way through. Very good puzzle designs.

travislucia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

Awesome I recently made a game with similar mechanics on newgrounds called "Super Slider Seasons"

Sink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Great level design, you introduced the mechanics at a very good rate for me to get used to how they all work. I think the game is also a very good length and it kept me engaged. The music is pretty nice and the character is quite cute.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

I don't always play LD puzzle games to the end since it's hard to design a good amount of interesting puzzles in a short time, along with a game. This is one I solidly enjoyed until the last minute! Bravo, this is a great submission!

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

Love these kinds of puzzle games. It gets pretty challenging!

onemoar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25am

Neat!

0x0961h says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52am

Aw, so cute. :3

ziomorti says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:50am

Had the same idea while prototyping on Saturday! But in the end we decided to change... Very nice gameplay and cool graphics!

drludos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Excellent Game! I love the art style and the music, catchy without being boring!. The game is very smooth to play and very fun, although some levels are kinda hard for me (damn knives!).

Great work!

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Cute!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

You achieved a lot with very basic mechanics, I love that!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Haha, great fun. Not sure but the i think the image of the toast might appear further ahead than where you actually are. either that or my timing's shoddy. probably the latter.

Music's a little repetitive but apart from that great game! I remember playing a logic puzzle like this before.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33am

The graphics are pretty cute.
The game mechanic not super original but well exploited.

It was nice seeing the knife coming into play after a few levels.
I was a bit stomped on the "larger" levels, since you don't have the "big picture" of where to go at first and you're kinda force to die.

The music was cute too and fitted well with the mood of the game.

Good job overall and congrats for making a game in 48 hours ! :)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:28am

Cute! Kyaa! ^_^
Controls are a little wonky, but I love the 'feel' of the game. :)

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

That's a nice take on this kind of game. The knives add quite a bit of variety in particular. Only the music feels too repetitive and somewhat annoying after a while.
Cheers,
Nathan

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:31pm

An awesome design of the levels; despite being a puzzle-type, it's very intuitive. The graphics and audio are simple yet fitting. The happiness of the toast is a bit creepy, because it's hitting walls and knives as it slides about, so extra mood points for that awkwardness XD

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:52am

the last level was cool!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nicely packed game. The knifes were a good spin and it all fitted the theme quite well. Nice job on completing this game beginning to end.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:25am

Easily one of the best games I've played this Jam. Really easy to pick up and play, very cutesty graphics, and an interesting playing style that is always in mind for every level's design. Great stuff!

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Hahaha. Rating 5 humor points for the knife as the enemy.

jprogman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:08am

I did see the theme at least. Very cute game with the lil' toast! Nice work!
Now, I want toast.

UltraRat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:21am

Really good pacing and introducing the new elements.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:44am

Challenging levels and interesting game mechanics. Thanks for a nice puzzle game. The toast character is cute and it's always funny when you get sliced by the knives.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]