December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Kingdom

by RadioLemon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defend the last kingdom on Earth from the endless barbarian invasion!

A more in-depth "How to play"
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/187598658/Java%20Projects/OneKingdom/One_Kingdom_How_to_Play/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#766Innovation2.47
#848Mood2.19
#855Graphics2.16
#901Fun2.16
#945Overall2.32
#947Theme1.89
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:27am

I didn't realize how to advance in the game, I tried a lot of things, but unfortunately the menu kept getting stuck for some reason. I like the concept and the graphics (the linemen rule! :D) - also, is Army Mode and Manage Mode switched out in the menu? Button and Text down below seem to say different things.

RadioLemon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:37pm

@dqmhose
Yeah... I didn't explain how to actually play the game very well. I'll try to make a less ambigious manual-thing as soon as I can.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06am

That would be good, I too had a bit of trouble figuring out how it works, and I don't wanna vote without actually having played. :)

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06am

The idea of this game seems good, but I have a very hard time playing it. The menu keeps getting stuck. I managed to deploy a few armies (or maybe there were there from the beginning). I'll check back when you've create the manual thing you mentioned, and give it another go :-)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17am

I agree with @Mekuri, the idea was fantastic but it was rather unintuitive and pretty difficult. I then read through your detailed gameplay description and that helped but I'd wager most people aren't going to spend the time to read the manual.

Anyway I enjoyed it and would like to see more games from you in the future :)!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

Not sure what to do... But I do like the idea of the game, looks like you did lots of work too. Looks nice, not sure how to play though

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:23pm

aha, now I see how it works!
It could use some more explanation I think.
Two things that I had a hard time figuring out:
1. armies dont show up if you have 'manage' selected and peasant don't show up if you're in army mode.
2. space advances a turn so you get food and resources and barbarians advance.

oh and 3. you can add more troops to an army
After I knew that it was obvious what I had to do.

I like the idea, but its not easy to understand and play.
It could use some more visual clues I think. For instance what the army consists of, a bit more obvious in what mode you are, a bit more obvious that the building is placed, but not yet finished.
Stuff like that would really help.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Interesting idea here! :D the strategy game is awesome! great work :D but kind of hard to understand x.x

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]