December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only have one vote

by thedeadlybutter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*The website might take a few seconds extra to load if no one has used it recently, sorry for the inconvenience!

In You only have one vote, you are given a list of candidates to be the next world leader. Each candidate has a set of policies they want to implement when they are elected. Policies all affect hundreds of virtual citizens in your society. Your goal is to pick a leader who will succeed based on the data is provided. Remember, you can only vote once.

Wanna talk about the game or anything else? @thedeadlybutter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Theme3.89
#108Innovation3.61
#559Overall2.94
#829Graphics2.20
#869Fun2.28
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very interesting concept!

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:16am

Nice idea with great potential :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

hahaha great concept with the one vote. Really enjoyed this :)

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

"Congrats, your vote was a good vote!" Yesss - I wish it would work here in Italy! ;)

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

this is indeed an interesting take on the theme.
once I had two Bill Murrays '^^

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

Yeah I didn't get around to putting more names in, or citizen attributes, or policies so many dupes will happen. I really wanted to have a larger diversity of data similar to Democracy 3 but it wasn't do-able for me in the time given.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I liked this, it was fun going through all of the candidates and deciding on a vote. Neat idea that could definitely be expanded on!

Static 64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Ha. I voted for Joe the Plumber of the ReDublican party and apparently it worked pretty well. I love the name references and also how you kept it neutral (not explicitly relating to real referenced parties)

It was a little hard to tell how your choices would impact society, but it was fun nonetheless. I'd like to see an expanded version of the game. Also, the design was nice and made it feel like a ballot. Good job!

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Nice - makes me think! The auto generation of candidates makes it replayable. Nice touch.

My one critique is about the wording of the statistics presented for the candidates. For instance, if it says "60% of the population is effected by this policy. Of these people 30% are affected positively and 30% are affected negatively.", the figures in the last sentence are actually referring to percentages of the whole population, not the subset of the population who is affected (the 60%). It would be correct the last sentence read: "Of these people 50% are affected positively and 50% are affected negatively." (So you'd have to compute those two percentages from 30/60 and 30/60.)

Alternatively you could just change the wording to something like this: "60% of the population is effected by this policy; 30% are affected positively and 30% are affected negatively." Then, it's implied that the last two figures refer to percentages of the entire population.

It's not a big deal since your graphs show the player exactly what the figures are - probably no one will get mixed up. However it might annoy some statisticians who are already annoyed by politics. :) But overall, well done.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:15am

I like the idea but I feel you could've done more with the presentation. Like it is now I have to add numbers and that's it.
I would've loved to see citizens go on the streets rioting when I choose a bad leader.
Or see a city grow when I choose a good leader. Or something along those lines.
You could've also given me a bunch of citizens whom I could interview and see what they do, how much they earn, if they have any problems etc. And then just give me the candidates and their policies without the percantages so I would have to make a choice based on my citizens.
Just a few ideas :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Innovative idea, definitely something a bit different. I think it could be something great if you kept working on it. The idea of having to think about the various consequences was great, but ultimately came down to number. The thing about politics is that so much of it is emotional and propaganda, so it's not like you can just have set % number and pick the ones that are best. I mean I see why you did that, it wasn't bad at all, just that you could expand on it with other campaign elements and really highlight how difficult it is to pick a candidate that is best for everyone. It certainly got me thinking!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:42am

Thank you to everyone to left this great feedback. I'm currently note taking everything I'm getting from you guys & I plan to pursue this game.

@Static 64 - Yeah, I tried to keep everything neutral. The randomness & references were how I planned on doing that & it seems like they worked. Making tools / data to help you make a more accurate vote is on the top of my to-do list. Not just data, but making it VERY clear to understand. Thanks for the feedback!

@Symmeteer - Just had a "Oh shit" moment.. The things your mind will miss in 48 hours I guess. I'm hoping sentences like that won't even be required when I polish the interface / game into something more understandable.

@Keyelgee - This sparked some crazy ideas in my head. For example, what if you could walk around the game world & ask any person there opinion of a candidate. Maybe even have newspapers / some 'fox news' equivalent. Big ideas, can't promise I'll go that far. Regardless, thanks for the feedback & great ideas!

@SecondDimension - This is completely correct & I've taken note. Getting into office is more than policy & those elements should be included. Another feature related to what you're speaking about I want to add is 'influence' (Citizens influencing other citizens about policies/candidates). Thanks for the feedback!

Well time to start working, thank you all for playing the game & leaving feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]