December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Life Each

by Msquirrel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Mage, a Knight and a Thief, trapped in a dungeon.
The knight and Thief have lost their weapons, the Mage still has his hands.
They All need to survive for them to escape.

Controls:
WASD - movement
Space - Actions and Spell
Right Arrow - scroll through characters

I had wanted to add in more levels and puzzles but didn't have enough time

*****
Use Space to fire spells, pick up rocks and open doors.
Use your mouse to aim your spells.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Fun2.93
#570Theme2.73
#648Innovation2.67
#737Graphics2.44
#754Overall2.69
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

Cool idea! :D

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08pm

The gameplay is a bit weird, and i couldn't figure what to do in the first 5mins. Maybe more instructions. Cool idea though.

turnip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice idea, but imo the difficulty starts off too high. Would have been nice to start with some less deadly puzzles, or at least not reset back to the beginning when you die.

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

turnip - the original idea would be that each mechanic (like button or wall stwitch) would have a small easy level to start and it would build up to more complex levels, unfortunately, I ran out of time to make all the levels I had wanted.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

need help can't get out of the first room :) ?

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

windWalkerranger, use the knight to pick up the rock, place it on the switch :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14pm

oh god, how did I fail that! I am really getting old :( It was a nice setup, but too difficult to enjoy. Definately will wait for the post-compo version.

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Good fun, difficult but good. really enjoyed:)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

The concept was interesting, but the difficult was unfair. You would often times lose half your health on an enemy you had no way of knowing would be there. Having to start over from the beginning each time did not help. Also you forgot to make the enemies' line of sight invisible.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Cool idea, but quite unforgiving. It would be nice to start from the next room once you get there, rather than having to beat the first one again.

I couldn't get past the second room, as the mage would only fire to the left, and so I couldn't hit the switch on the right

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:57am

scoobyben, the mage's fire depends on where your mouse is :)

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36am

Ah, ok. In which case I would've put the switch character buttton somewhere nearer to the left hand - I found it very tricky to use wasd, right arrow key and the mouse all at once

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:05am

A little bit hard but it's awesome! :D

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Like the idea pretty much ! As it was said, the difficulty starts too high :( But nice job !

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Thanks for the feedback Guys, might work on a post compo version over my Christmas Break. :)

foumart says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:01pm

This is nice concept but feels uncomplete. It's bad to be killed while reading - like in the second room where you're on fire right away.

Msquirrel says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:47am

Yeah, It was a bit incomplete, the text was added in 5 minutes prior to deadline so there was some form of in game instruction. No time to fix it so you couldn't get killed

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]