December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Leap of Faith

by Ysty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Faced with overcrowded prisons, criminals are placed instead into semi-real simulations. These provide the convicts with basic exercise, but they are also dangerous. Any fall means death.

You only get one chance to complete the program, only one hope to be set free from the simulation.

This game is my attempt to "fix" the first person platformer, to make one that isn't clunky and doesn't make you wish for a third person view. It's a little short but I'm happy with what I've ended up with.

Note: The web version is a little low resolution, so the text is a bit grungy. Still perfectly readable/playable, but if you want to play the game in beautifully crisp HD then download one of the standalone versions. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#206Fun3.33
#306Overall3.25
#322Mood3.02
#364Innovation3.10
#382Humor2.52
#390Audio2.73
#737Graphics2.44
#771Theme2.39

Comments

kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15am

Cool game. I liked the way it helps you jumping from the edge.

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48am

If no one looks, anyone could have an "unforseeable accident" ;). It's a nice first person platformer and the game mechanics are fitting for the given timeframe.

Follett says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

My main complaint would be the low FOV and the lack of objects to let me get to grips with judging my surroundings. Still really enjoyed it though.

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21am

really loved the way the new prisoner's no. is announced at the start

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22am

Creative and fun, with a hint of an interesting story. Good job

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28am

Is it my blood on the walls?)) Pretty nice. But this bloody British splash screens every time... Mechanics is good. You need improve environment.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31am

Reminds me a bit of portal^^ (are you sure there's not a portal gun hidden somewhere?)

I guess the accident means that you get freed from the simulation? :P

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36am

Nice game, reminds me of portal too. Only complain is that I feel like I move too fast, it's often hard to control.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52am

Fun little game, frankly I'm impressed with anyone who can make a 3d game in 48 hours! Lots of levels too, well done.

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58am

Cool overall. Give oculus rift support!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58am

Looked deceptively simple but there's a nice game mechanic in there! I like the dystopian British flag. :P

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:00pm

That was pretty impressive. And i liked the randomized prisoners id numbers :) Tutorial text is sometimes hard to read

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Cool game. Liked the game mechanics and starting prisoner sound bites.

Good potential for an enjoyable fps. A little like Mirror's Edge.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Really enjoyed this. I like how you worked the virtual reality into the story rather than just using it as an excuse for simple graphics. At its core the game is just fun. Levels could use more variety and visuals/audio could be prettier, but for 48 hours this is awesome.

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Although it's not very original, it's a solid implementation of this genre for 48 hours. Loved the way the prisoner number randomised after every death.

Good work :)

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I loved the gameplay. It was pretty attractive and fun :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Awesome! I love the prisoner number being announced (and changing), the gameplay mechanics work really well, and the ending is hilarious. Great entry.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This is game is really fun to play. Please elaborate on it to make it a paid product.

hazzen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31pm

The "jump when you hit the edge" is really nice. Landing on moving platforms is a bit tough, especially as you get later into the levels.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I loved this game mainly because I was fucking awesome at it, I can't give good scoring as it doesn't follow the theme at all :/

quill18 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I loved the jumping/parkour mechanics. Very well implemented.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45pm

lol (not)Paused. Anyway, fun game, sorta reminded me of a portal game :).

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I think you almost nailed the feeling you were going for. I didn't spend any time cursing the fps view :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I made it to level 2 with using on ly 21 lives :P Really nice job ! It's not that easy, not too hard. Great work !

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Making a note here: huge success.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Really cool twist on the theme, the announcing of the prisoner's number was surprisingly effective. Unique controls, but really clicked for me without too much confusion. Keep developing this further, I like what you have so far.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good first-person platformer, very smooth movements and generally a lot of fun. Could've done with some ambient background music, but apart from that it's really cool.

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

The controls felt great. It's very difficult to make a first person platformer feel good, but you nailed it! I liked the story as well. Great work!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:30am

Great effort, interesting mechanic that definitely has potential. Movement was a little touchy to get used to but after that I had a good amount of fun.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32pm

that was entertaining.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice game! A bit difficult to read the instructions, though.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Great game here, the theme connection seems a little flimsy but i think that's fine - the mechanic is really nice & fluid. Great job!!!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

i like the 'space' jump and the overall feeling of it.. good job :)

ryann says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40pm

The storyline is great and the mechanics work well enough for a platformer.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Pretty sweet overall, although the jumps are hard to control and the text looked bad. Still, the overall visual presentation and audio was good and it was fun!

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

This is an original and fun game, and I like your use of the theme as well!

darkblue says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I find that the prisoner is quite hard to control. No way to get it right on the first try. Depth perception is not easy on a black background, which make the game even harder. Kudoos for automatic jumping when reaching the edge, that's what is usually painful in platform games, so bad it's so messy when you are in the air.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Great mechanic and I admire your goal of fixing the FPP. Having said that, it looks like you were more concerned with tacking your goal that with making something for the theme.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Wow very good jumping mechanics. Haven't havent seen something done like that before. The game could use some music though but otherwise great job

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05am

Cool game, it's rather fun!
The callout for every time you die can get a bit distracting, but it adds to the feel I guess :)
Graphics are fairly cool, and I'm guessing the sound effects were done yourself? :D
Very nice!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:01am

Atmosphere is nicely ominous, but not convinced about it "fixing" first person platforming.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45am

Fun game, would be interesting to see it with the rift. Though you'd need to tone the landing head bob down a bit.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:30am

Haha, nice job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:15am

Solid ideas for platforming. Could be really fun if polished up a bit more. Obvious Portal vibe here. I'd keep working on this.

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:35am

Super difficult for me, it goes well with the theme though.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Great starter, well done :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:01pm

The platform is so far, but the concept is cool!

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I like the idea of distilling a 3D platformer to the its core elements, but it could've done with a bit more diversity. I still enjoyed quite a bit, certainly enough to finish it -- loved the ending by the way :)

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I really like the concept of holding space so you automatically leap off the edge. Unfortunately I couldn't play very much because I am one of the mythical people who learned FPS on an inverted mouse.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:28am

Cool concept sending a different prisoner for each retry. And the number announcer was really great. Though it was really confusing on moving platforms, I enjoyed this thoroughly.

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:30am

It's fun, but I thought the association with the theme is kinda weak.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]