December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Objective

by bradleypollard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Objectives. You only have one. But when you complete it? You get another!

View a timelapse of my entry here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9b1O6VslCGA

------------------------------------------------------------

Objective is a semi-open-world driving game with a simple goal, complete your only objective within the time limit.

However, you will also have to micromanage your car, as you make sure it's kept clean for stingy VIPs, topped up with fuel so you can get to the next location, and repaired so that you don't explode when trying to knock over a dustbin.

------------------------------------------------------------

Controls:

WASD - Movement
M - Turn off sound

Tips:

- Let go of W or Up when turning corners to slide round them (and so you don't go flying into walls - your car takes damage!)
- Unfortunately I didn't have time to implement a minimap or pointer, but there are only 5 locations in the game and they change colour so they are obvious to spot. It doesn't take more than a few goes to learn where they are!
- Hitting trash makes your car dirty, and VIPs won't get in if it's over 50% dirty!

------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for checking out my game! Had great fun again, but I do wish I had spent my time on day two a little better.

A final note: the Mac and Linux builds are currently untested. Hopefully soon I can test the Linux at least.

------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#414Audio2.68
#415Fun2.97
#431Humor2.38
#473Graphics2.97
#489Mood2.77
#528Innovation2.86
#528Overall2.97
#751Theme2.43

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Nice job ! Remind me a lot of the first GTA. Great work I loved it, the graphics are well done, the gameplay is cool, good control of the vehicule. nice work with the particules system, it looks nice!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Very nice, I really like the car mechanics! A mini-map of some sort would've really helped to start with as I have no idea where anything is. xD

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Nice little game.

Slightly confusing that you can drive over some of the tiles that don't look like roads.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

@SerialVelocity: Yep, if I had had more time I would have loved to implement an arrow to point you in the direction of the objective!

@daredevildave Thanks! I'm terrible at art, so it was hard to make it obvious which tiles were repair buildings and so on so you could drive over them.

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Quite hard controls, but funny!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39pm

@Narariglez Thanks!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Really poor controls made the game too difficult for me.

natpat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:11am

Driving the car was fun, but I never managed to get round a corner without hitting into a wall. And it was hard to tell which buildings I could drive thorough as well - but all in all it was fun!

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:16am

Nice graphical style for this game. I enjoyed trying to complete the objectives before time ran out. Not sure that the theme is real strong but I like it. It would be nice to have a mini-map of the city to see where I need to go next. I can see this going in so many great directions if you keep working on it. Nice job.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19am

I had a lot fun drifting around trying to avoid walls (not that I didn't hit them a ton...). It would have been nice to maybe have the road colored a bit so it would be easier to distinguish at first, but once I got the hang of it it didn't matter too much. :)

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Really nice. The awkward handling actually added to the fun - that normally frustrates the hell out of me :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:35pm

@recursor Thanks! I'm considering trying to get a version with a pointer to the next objective done in the future, and possibly putting it up on the Windows 8 store.

Also cheers for the feedback guys :)

Tonasz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Aw that steering... was whole fun! The first few plays map was a bit unclear for me - I didn't know I can drive through some of tiles (like gas or... something I still don't know what it was) :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:39am

@Tonasz Thanks! Yeah unfortunately it's a little unclear - given more time I would have added arrows and also a screen to explain what the gas and repair tiles do, doesn't help that I can't art :P

psc1997 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice !

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:33am

very hard controls.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:32am

Gah! I found this game really hard. Like you mentioned in the comments, a mini-map would've been useful.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]