December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Capitalis

by deathray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The World Only Gets One Capital City"
Capitalis is a envisioned as an MMO city-building game with both cooperative and competitive elements. Try to help one of the 3 cities become the most populous so it can be the capital city. (You can figure out what city you're building in by the color of the ground when you hover over it.)

Current gameplay is limited to building rather nondescript homes and workplaces, and watching the potato-like citizens jump from one to the other (while they earn a wage and pay rent, somewhat behind-the-scenes). Please let me know what you would like to see in this game if it was more developed and polished! Thanks.

Built with HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, no graphics only CSS3. Only tested on Chrome ver31. Please use an up-to-date browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#131Innovation3.55
#495Humor2.25
#602Mood2.62
#628Graphics2.68
#676Overall2.79
#689Theme2.54
#909Fun2.14

Comments

evilDan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

I ran outta money and now I don't know what to do :(

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

I ran out of money and didn't know what to do either. Also, it said I didn't have enough money when I had 100 coins, and I was buying something for 100.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Pretty cool! I TOO ran out of money xD

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very interesting idea. The potato people just sat on the ground not moving at all, is that expected? No more money. I guess the people need to move in to make rent money. Very good windowing system with the info boxes at the top right. Well done!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

Very simple gameplay, but fun nonetheless.

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

Sorry about that, there was a data issue that was preventing the game from actually progressing along. It should be fixed now. The world is getting populated, and you should start to see some rent income. (Although it's possible there's a bug with that too... Unfortunately my testing in real-life scenarios was very minimal.)

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

I also fixed a typo (from > to >=) to fix the issue Elforama ran into.

embero says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48am

Nice concept. I like this idea.

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

Could be interesting, but as is it's a bit unpolished and without a real cause. Which is understandable, as 48 hours isn't whole lot of time! Still, I think the idea is very good!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:31am

Took me a bit to understand how to play. Was really nice trying it out on my phone so that's a plus.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nice concept. I think it is a little too slow though without some kind of countdown or indicator to let you know when more money is coming.
Good job for 48 hours though!

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35am

Pretty cool! Very interesting idea! But it need some polishing and more options to become a great game! :)
Good job!

If you have time please rate my game! I would appreciate it :)

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:54am

Interesting idea. Not really sure how it works though. But I am impressed with what you got in 48 hours!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I think you should work the game feedback but the idea is promising

ehtd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:42am

A timer for getting coins would be nice. And I guess more instructions on how to play. Looks promising.

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:38am

simple but fun.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Hola!

I may be stupid, so please bear with me! But I am having some issue loading the game- when I open the page, several yellow boxes pop up on the right side of the screen, saying:

"ERROR PARSING JSON [loadData cities]"
"ERROR PARSING JSON [loadData plots]"
"ERROR PARSING JSON [loadData floors]"
"ERROR PARSING JSON [loadData persons]"
"ERROR PARSING JSON [loadData myPerson]"

When I click to play the game, the initial text on the screen swings up to disappear, and then nothing seems to happen. I tried this in several different browsers on my computer (including Chrome v. 31.0.1650.63 m) with the same result; also noted that Venks said was playable on a phone so tried it on my iPhone 5s with the same result.

Not scoring since I'm unable to play, but will check back? Or leave me a comment on my game page if you'd like more information?

deathray says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:33am

Sorry about the errors! My hosting company has a very bad system for database connections and it seems that after a while it starts to throw errors and I have to call them to fix it. It should be fixed for now though.

Thank you to everyone who has played so far. Ruby City has a big lead. For new players - let's try to get the other cities built up! Scroll to the right before picking a plot...

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:59am

Sweet, playing now! Built up a few in Sapphire City to start pulling some potatoes out of Ruby.

I agree some kind of timer on coin-gettage would be rad; kinda chillin' right now waiting for these freeloaders to pay their rent!

Also, NSFW EVERYONE- I TOTALLY JUST WATCHED TWO POTATOES IN THE SAME HOME ON TOP OF EACH OTHER! PROTECT YOUR CHILDREN! Keep an eye on that "Omar Thomas," if that IS his real name... -_-

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:28am

Okay so the online integration is amazing for this time frame. If I may make a suggestion, and I'm sure there are a TON of awesome things you could do with this framework, but...

Well, let me guess first. It seems like money collection timer is done client-side? May I suggest making this server-side, so that people can collect (perhaps up to a specified maximum)coins at a reduced rate while they're not actively participating to spend when they are actively participating, and then increase that coin generation rate when players are actively participating? Thus creating incentive to be active participants, but allowing people to look forward to joining the play session.

Or it may be set up something like that already and I just don't notice all good!

Sorry for spam, just excited to finally be able to play and enjoy the concept immensely.

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:01am

There isn't heaps to do but I'm impressed you managed to put this together in a weekend, looks nice too!

Thorig says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:53am

I tried to play your game, but I also gotten the pars errors.

philhassey says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:11pm

ERROR PARSING JSON ... :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]