December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dollar Master

by larb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

And now for something completely different, a market/trading game.

You start with 1 dollar. Buy and sell goods to build a fortune.

Prices change after a new day.
Purchase prices are rounded up
Sale prices are rounded down
Days advance every 5 seconds

Super cheat! Click on Day to force advance a day. (If you are impatient and don't like the prices.)

There's no win condition. Play until you get bored.

Written in HTML5/Javascript. Source is all in the file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#235Theme3.36
#538Innovation2.85
#597Humor2.00
#637Fun2.67
#724Overall2.74
#766Mood2.36
#958Graphics1.80

Comments

TheSnide says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice little game, a little history graph would have made it awesome :)

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:34pm

awesome idea for a game, i could totally see adding a character that guides you through this and having some fun events (like stockmarket crashes, etc)

Velro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Had a similiar idea, glad someone did it.

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice game. The start is really difficult and the interface don't help much. I think that the game would be much easier to understand with only round numbers. i made something like 5k when i understand it. we should have a penalty when we pass a day.

atombrot says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:00am

It's a start, but a bit too random to motivate me for a longer time. With some improvements this could become an addicting quest for more money ;)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:31am

I wasn't too fond of the rounding, but it was a nice fun game.

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I'm really bad with numbers. :) Something pushed me to try again and again, but i had difficulties with the rythm - often waiting for the prices to rise - As mcapraro said, i think it could be really really fun with some events.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Interesting game but the round rules make the start too long and difficult. After that it almost not affect gameplay so why implement it ?

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I love the idea! Keep it up, this good be one hell of an addicting game :D

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:48pm

The user interface needs a huge amount of work.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Pretty good take on the theme. And I agree with what mcapraro said about adding some random events to make things even more interesting

Crabman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Well, that was weirdly addictive... Made my first 1,3 million in just under 10 years :D

multikorv says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Had a hard time with the GUI, it needs some work. Otherwise I think it's quite a nice game.

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Nice work!
This game has shown me, why I never event want to think about stock market :D After seeing my naked gred, I needed to stop :P
A goal would have been nice. Maybe you could have only one year to make your only one dollar into enough money to buy that only one massive diamond ring for your only one girl;)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:56pm

As mentioned above, the GUI isn't really intuitive.
However after I noticed the "Sell" tab it became clearer,
maybe you could have made the Tabs in colour.
Once I understood that, it got interesting.
I think some feature helping are knowledge of the probability that something will rise would help.
I can see a lot of potential game-play here, the main idea is good.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:36am

Complicated user interface ( GUI ) :/
But good idea. Nice work ! ;)

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:18am

This was strangely addicting. It took a while to figure out how to maximize my profits, but I was soon riding Beiberbonds to the top of the stock trade. Good work on this.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:18am

Hehe cool entry :) I bought a lot of bieberbonds and got ruined almost immediately :P

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:20am

I'll be rich with this! )))
just a little workout, and I'll be ready to make a real money )

Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

This is an excellent thing for a market in a game. It's so good. You could have people trying to game the market for a long time. Took me a few tries before i started figuring out it's better to wait. :D More varaibles and risks are better in the stock market too. Graphs, news reports from the companies that have stock, and other kinds of options for invensting those precious dollars. gj.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

It could maybe use some more mechanics (though nothing in particular comes to mind), but it's still pretty fun.

joekinley says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

What an addictive little game. But everytime I bought stuff it kept falling and NEVER rising back in value.
All in all I hovered around 10-20 dollars, only once had around 300.

I liked it alot. Could be kinda clearer in the interface, and more accessible, but all in all I liked it.

plancien says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Agree with a lot of others : you should work on UI. This game has an addictive potential.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]