December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

THE NINION - A MELON SURVIVAL

by chocobyte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE NINION - A MELON SURVIVAL (Ludum Dare 28)
======================================================
The Ninions are on the brink of extinction, so you have
to help them reach their beloved melons!
======================================================
Controls: Use the Mouse to find the Direction and Click to Jump!

Have Fun & Thank You for Playing!

Technology used:
-Box2dWeb
-Three.Js
-Google Font Api

Warning:
If textures are not working, please wait a moment since game data are ~4,11 MB. Thank you

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#495Humor2.25
#610Innovation2.74
#618Graphics2.70
#692Audio1.94
#693Fun2.58
#724Overall2.74
#756Mood2.38
#947Theme1.89
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

Interesting game idea, but Im not sure of the controls. Can you add them to the description? Thanks!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Hard.. but quite fun! I like it! :)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Sorry. Controls don't seem to work. I can't make a jump. (Firefox on XP)

chocobyte says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Fixed the little bug where the mouse click event was not found on Firefox, thank you lotusgame!

chocobyte says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Linus Lindberg, I thought it would be too easy ;) Thank you for your feedback.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:59am

The last level was a bit brutal, but all in all it was pretty fun. I didn't see that strong of a connection to the theme, though - you sometimes had more than one jump, so was the "only one" the melon or the ninion? Well, I guess they would be on the brink of extinction if there was only one of the little guys left ;)

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:31pm

A very nice game :P, but I think that the level should automaticaly restart when you fall down or the energy is over :P

97%Awesome says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice idea but the last one felt a bit frustrting, could have a redo button so you don't have to press the button down on the bottom.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Cute. Very cute. Found the controls more of a frustration than a challenge but enjoyed the experience non the less, good job :D

caribou says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:26pm

The levels were fun, maybe a reset button would have been great. Also it's a bit hard to understand how the trajectory is made along the mouse position.

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Yeah! Very addictive!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Neat gameplay mechanic. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]