December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Skate!

by angela - Jam Entry

Angela -- We are a two person team, and our son did the music. You only get one Roller Skate, and one Ice Skate. The trick is to use the roller skate on the pavement, and the ice skate on the ice. You use the mouse keys to switch back and forth between the two skates. You only get one minute and you want to collect as many coins as you can.
Apologies for the bugs, we felt pretty rushed at the last minute. There were a lot of features we wanted to work in, and a few big bugs we wanted to fix, but 72 hours goes by SO FAST.

Mike -- We were really excited to a part of LD28 this year as we weren't sure at first how it was going to work into our schedule. It turns out, it worked perfectly! Our game is a bit rough, as a proof of concept, it's a fun jaunt, so give it a whirl. Keep in mind when reviewing we created EVERYTHING, from scratch, ourselves. ALL of it was produced during the 72 hour period and some of that we had to learn as we went *cougharmaturescough*! So, please be gentle. :D

This is a zipped java game, so you should be able to just download, unzip, and run MyGame.jar.
Thanks for reviewing!

Also, even though we don't have a website, check out http://modulus360.com/ as we continue to make changes as suggested by our users. We'd like to polish this off a little bit and would love it if our LD family got a chance to see it!

Hint: Don't try to get all the coins.
Another Hint: Change skate a little before he hits the ice.
It takes him a minute to put his foot down.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Innovation(Jam)3.35
#113Theme(Jam)3.29
#264Audio(Jam)2.88
#374Fun(Jam)2.59
#474Overall(Jam)2.47
#495Graphics(Jam)2.18
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

Once you've racked up some coins it gets to be a really fun challenge to swap them at just the right time. Feels a bit slow to start off or if you make a mistake though.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

Fun idea, but the controls really weren't that great :( It was difficult switching, and I would frequently get stuck on the borders because I switched too early!

Also, huge download 0.0

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

Extremely slow to start off, and I think something was wrong with the timer in my game. It definitely took it a lot longer than a second to count out a second.

I love the concept though. In the long run, someone could do a lot with a racing game that works like this.

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

I think the time counter is a little slow, it seemed like it took about 5 minutes to reach the one minute mark.
Other than that, the game was fun! It's just really slow to start off.

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07am

We apologize about the timer synchronization. Because we couldn't figure out how to get the actual engine timer to work right, the timer is "tick" based and can occasionally be glitchy. Usually, restarting the VM fixes it, but not always. We're currently working on separating the timer out and implementing it like it should have been. This hurts our scoring, but we think the overall concept is fun and want to extend it. Look out for updates to this if you care to see our progress. We really do appreciate all of your inputs! :D

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I can't run it. "A Java Exception has occured." is the error when I try and run it.

angela says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:18am

Can you be more specific about the error message you received, or is that all it says?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:40am

Starts off slow, but a pretty fun game.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:06pm

That is all that the error message says.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Oh yeah, OS: Windows 7 64 bit, haha. Sorry.

302_Dave says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:12am

Interesting idea. I just wish the guy went a little faster.

VAMflax says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Fun once you get going. I'd say it's a bit narrow and the controls are a touch sensitive. Really easy to skate straight off the level.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Love the concept! The character animation is hilarious! XD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]