December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spell

by dark_hunter - Jam Entry

A simple but epic card game with interesting set of rules.
Play, win and collect (as usual).

*I've uploaded a quick fix for a critical bug when you have all cards collected.

**I didn't have time to compose any tracks. The audio here is a royalty free tracks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#55Fun(Jam)3.62
#139Overall(Jam)3.40
#207Audio(Jam)3.07
#208Innovation(Jam)3.03
#214Graphics(Jam)3.41
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#283Humor(Jam)2.29
#387Theme(Jam)2.39

Comments

IHavePockets says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

Really fun game, but I don't see how it fits to the theme.
Awesome game!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

Really nice game, it took me some time to understand the keep mechanic, but it is really neat, and fits nicely in the theme. well done!

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30am

Typos in Tutorial: "commense" should be commence, and "the one who have" should be "the one who has". "two from each" should be rewritten as "two of each"

Otherwise a decent game, but very loosely tied to the theme. I feel as if you wanted to create a card game, and just made up the theme-related component arbitrarily to fit.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32am

Very fun and addicting!

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01am

That's different to see a card game, nice work! The rules of the game are simple enough to start playing quickly but have enough subtlety to make the decisions interesting.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Solid gameplay and an impressive amount of cards!

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Pretty cool card game! I like the concept, but the rules are a tad buggy, for example if you have 1000 life the corrupted priest's ability won't work, and if you both are going to kill each other in the same turn, you win by default, which it should be a draw. Also, would've been cool to be able to deselect your attack and keep card if you change your mind. Was a great experience though, and the eerie music fits well. Not sure how it fits with the theme mind.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really nice card game. I would give 5/5 for audio but I don't think you made it - I'll check back here later in case you say that you did (I know it's not against the rules for game jam).

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice game. Good work. Simple and fun deck builder. You should work for a post comp release with sounds, better graphics, music, and of course tablets and phones ports, I think the interface is perfect for those. Good luck!

meek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Interesting and fun use of the theme. Enjoyed the simple concept and gameplay

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Incredible, I would never have thought making a collecting card game for a Ludumdare was possible. Were you alone ? If not how many people in your team ?
The gamedesign is simple but efficient. I think you achieved a good on balance on the death for empty deck conditions. I like the fact that the keep mecanic make you run out of card later but also reveal what may be your next move. I dont know if IA care about that anyway.

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Quite the dramatic touch on a card game and I did win.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Good cards game, simple and fun. Maybe it doesnt fit to the theme, but its a good game, nice job!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Can't play windows games.

dray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54pm

The game i had the most fun so far! well made mechanic, works really well. i play a lot of card games and yours is very entertaining. the random of the game force to just have the most damaging card and can't be a reliable mechanic on a full game but you can balance it with a card cost (maybe card cost more or less health to be played). but i play like one hour of it and really enjoyed it.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:06pm

can't play, mac

Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Simple amazing game, I'd love to be able to collect more than 2 of each card though, or have more cards to get... but I understand it was made in such a short time so you couldn't have too many cards.. and the ammount you already have is very impressive!!

I just love the game overall, 5 stars! Very addictive!

Alex Rose says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Really cool music, really cool game. Reminds me of Yu-Gi-Oh! (except very different). Enjoyed getting Boris with insane power. (I think that was his name anyway). Nice one.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]