December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie hills

by pl0xz0rz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So this game features you as a guy in a mountain full of zombies. Yes, you have a sword, but you only get one, so if you break it, you lose it, and you will probably die. You will probably die anyways, but that is another thing. There should also be treasure hidden somewhere.

The game is made only using HTML5 and Javascript. The soure code is all in the HTML file.

The mountains, the zombies and the sword are procedurally generated.

EDIT: Fixed a bug with win condition, it was a < that was supposed to be a >, the game is now winnable, and the treasure is slightly underground now, not floating high in the sky, that was another typo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#587Humor2.04
#725Audio1.75
#756Innovation2.49
#773Mood2.35
#825Overall2.58
#867Theme2.14
#869Fun2.28
#898Graphics2.05

Comments

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33am

I'm so minecraft influenced, the first thing i tried was to dig done... well not a good thing to do with only a sword ;).

The game is actually pretty hard. More enemies, powerups and a bigger jump height would have been nice though.

grifdail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I cant launch the game... I stuck at the menu. I can't click on anything.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

What browser are you using? For me, it works in Chrome, Firefox and also kinda works in IE.

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:49pm

It's a fun game! A little to difficult, and sometimes the sword don't go where we want, but i liked playing with!

grifdail says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

It's fixed now. It would be great if we had a few more thing to do...

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:30pm

The graphics are minimal but it looks great nonetheless. I feel like the jump is too short though. But other than that, good job!

Fervir says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Got 567!
Going down hills and running past everything is fun.
However, going up hills, not so much.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:22am

cool

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:29am

Is there a treasure?

Xavier says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

I like the way the player kills zombies :) and remove blocks from the terrain

sykotomy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:40am

I got stuck in one area due to the jump height. I was probably doing something wrong though...

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Hmm. The sword destroys the ground? This is strange to me. Graphics and sound are also very minimalistic...

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:59pm

142 without swinging a sword! It is a "empty" game, but it is pretty bug free and you can do much stuff. Awesome humor you've got there!

finefin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:21pm

everyone knows that zombies are green!
but I still keep running into these squared buggers!

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:51pm

The movement is fun when you're going downhill and pick up speed.

The combat was not the same experience though, I'd see bullets wiz through me and then I'd die after the enemy breathed on my big toe. (This is on Firefox) and once the game seemed to restart when I had half health.

It was a fun experience overall but I would have played longer if not for the weirdness of the combat.

celsyum says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:08pm

fun game and quite liked to play. just why zombies can shoot ?

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:11pm

One of the best graphics I've seen in the compo.
Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]