December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Resistance Runner

by Mezzomatto - Jam Entry

!!!!NOTE: SHIFT and SPACE run and jump!!!!
Player control is not perfect so you'll need these.

Scraping past the deadline we present Resistance Runner. Carefully navigate your way through deadly robots and giant mechs with one clip of ammo to relay a tactical message.

Step out of line and you'll be shot, soldier!

Controls:

WASD - Move
Shift - Run
Space - Jump
1-4 - Item/Weapon Select
Left Click - Shoot
Right Click - Aim

Comments:

Many things were not added (especially sounds), despite being 95% complete, which would make us sad if we weren't so tired. A polished version will be uploaded soon. Give us some feedback and we'll do what we can! Most importantly, have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Mood(Jam)3.60
#71Graphics(Jam)4.19
#236Overall(Jam)3.15
#300Fun(Jam)2.77
#305Theme(Jam)2.65
#400Audio(Jam)2.26
#438Humor(Jam)1.56
#449Innovation(Jam)2.32
#965Coolness49%

Comments

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44am

Using a Mac, so I wasn't able to test, sorry...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51am

Very nice! Impressive graphics.

rhyspwalmsley says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:16am

Well done! This will look great after a bit of polishing, that was obviously hard to do in the time constraint. Love the plot; underdog stories are always attractive to me. Keep it up!

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25am

Full points for graphics!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38am

Great graphics, but found it very difficult, found it weird how much I slowed down going up slopes

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53am

Biscuitdough:
Didn't get time to add an instructions screen but SHIFT runs and SPACE jumps - makes it much easier to get up hills. But yes, controls ended up weird in final version.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54am

I had to click on this since the cover image reminded me of the 90s! The only issue I had was that moving uphill was somewhat painfully slow.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40am

nice graphics, but I could move my mouse while moving and couldn't change the weapon

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:49am

Well done! I really like shooters so I had to play this one. I only missed the background music after the first level.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21am

Apart from the quibbles that the other commenters mentioned, great stuff!

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:34pm

TuxIsBornToFrag: you couldn't change weapon because You Only Get One per level. Haven't heard of mouse problems elsewhere, can you explain a bit more?

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:52am

Music Ok, sounds efects uffffff, ambient ok but very slowwwww

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:19am

Great graphics! Is there any way to destroy the big robots?

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Glovecat: yeah, there's a teeny tiny fuel cap on their back which is basically impossible to hit that kills them. But it was too hard so we made their eye vulnerable as well. Protip: the flying bots also go down one hit in the eye, otherwise you need to hit them three times. Even more protip: just avoid the big robots. :P

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Impressive graphics! Would have helped though if the pacing was a tad faster, 'twas rather slow without keeping Shift pressed. Still, an FPS in such a short time is always an achievement!

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:16pm

It's amazing how much you've managed to cram into a 72-hour game. Control issues aside, it's an enjoyable experience.

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:04am

I tried to beat it but it was painful going up hills :) As others say, the graphics are great!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

Woooooow! Excelent game! ;)
The sniper hand in 3rd chapter have bugs, but overall game is veeeery goood ;)
Congratulations ;)

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Impressive amount of work in there, the graphics are quite decent (for some reason I like the ground). Movement is a bit slow for such a large map, though.

Mezzomatto says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:28am

SHIFT makes you run...

epb9000 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I kept getting stuck on the little hills ground, so I jumped a lot. XD Pretty fun, though the second chapter took me a few tries. I could barely hear the sounds, but those I heard were good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]