December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Defuser

by rukbotto - Jam Entry

Defuser was made by David Ricardo Venegas (@davix1228) and Jose Miguel Venegas (@rukbotto).

The following tools were used:

Language: Haxe 3
Libraries: HaxePunk / OpenFL
Editor: Vim / Sublime text 3
Pixel art: Pixen
Sound effects: Bfxr / Sunvox
Too much love, of course!!

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#167Innovation(Jam)3.15
#326Fun(Jam)2.71
#332Overall(Jam)2.94
#349Humor(Jam)2.05
#387Theme(Jam)2.39
#391Graphics(Jam)2.75
#405Audio(Jam)2.23
#465Mood(Jam)2.21

Comments

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Pretty fun when I finally understood the idea behind the game :) Initially I was catching every letter but then realised (I probably should have read the instructions!) that you could erase letters.

Get's a bit hard after level 2, maybe an easier difficulty curve? Otherwise a fun game and good job :) I didn't really see the "you only get one" part, unless it was you only get one life?

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Really cool, idea. And I like your pixel art!

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Good job! this minigame is really good!

travislucia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Awesome Idea and well executed minus the anouying bomb sound

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44am

Pretty fun game and interesting take on the theme.
Pretty hard though when you cant get the letters you need to fall before time runs out.

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04am

I love the concept, its very innovative :D the pixel art is excellent,

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:05am

I had a lot of fun with this. I really like how the design encouraged left hand play which for most people makes the game more difficult. Erasing and planning was a blast (pun intended)! Art did the trick. Sound effects really got annoying fast.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:05am

Not bad! interesting concept.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:00am

Looks really nice and gets very challenging. Well done!

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:01am

A very good idea, and well developed,but I can't pass the first word xD maybe Y,E all the times :/

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:03am

Really good and difficult! The sound effects were harsh, but the graphics were nice. Difficult to not press the letter you are trying to catch directly! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:40am

I just upgrade my keyboard skill. Nice workout )) Bombhiro! ))

Photon says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:43am

Blast it, stop dropping "T"'s! GIVE ME AN "N"!

Haha... nice little game you have here.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:26am

i honestly really like the concept of the game, but it feels a little too luck based. there were long stretches where i was able to input each letter, but it was the wrong letter.

one way to maybe solve this is to have multiple letters drop simultaneously, and one of them is always the needed letter. you would be able to let letters pass without dying, but you would need to quickly choose out of the 4 falling letters. just a suggestion!

anyway, great entry and use of the theme.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Really interesting idea! ;)
I liked it !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]