December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Just One Minute

by TheCze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING: Do not try out Ironman mode if you have trouble accepting defeat. It is recommended, that you first try to play without Ironman mode and then switch later.
Ironman mode as it is was the original version of the game, but I decided to include a less harsh version aswell. Your Ironman mode setting will be saved so there is no backing out by refreshing the browser (though I'm sure you will find a way to reset it ;))




You just got out after a long day of work.
Your significant other has cooked you a nice meal,
but you only got one minute to arrive at home in time.

Control the car with WASD/Arrow Keys.



IF YOU ARE HAVING TROUBLE PLAYING THE WEBVERSION (STUTTERING/CONTROLS) PLEASE TRY THE DOWNLOAD!



The game was created with libgdx.
Sound effects created with bfxr.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#416Humor2.43
#426Theme3.02
#469Audio2.57
#544Fun2.80
#557Graphics2.81
#677Mood2.50
#690Overall2.78
#778Innovation2.45

Comments

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

One try is really hard :D Love it.

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

I somehow can't restart the game once I crashed

Follett says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16am

Damn this is hard. Took me a while to realize you can drive off the road.

hazzen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:18am

Not (easily) playable on a small screen - can't see oncoming cars early enough. Had to force zoomout on the page.

Ironman mode is nice, but it means I can't play your game anymore.

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

I like it. But it's really hard! Also it'd be nice if you could restart the game instantly after losing without going through all the menus again. Good job!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

Nice! Like the idea, really.

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21am

Only one try in something like this isn't really acceptable in my opinion, and the .jar download takes way for me to bother trying it again, and I have the best internet I can get in my region. If you improve the download speed or remove the only one try, tell me and I'll re-rate it.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I give up, driving into too many trees xD
I quite like the graphical style.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:10pm

It's like a life simulator with cars!
Good!

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Mhh, I shouldn't have had selected Iron Man mode :D
The game is quite interesting and the 3d effect is nice.
Well done :)

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice game, but after crash I can't restart.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Oh wait, there is only one try :D

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Just like in life, you won't get to try again in Ironman mode (though you could always download the standalone version and play again ;))

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I could get it to load nicely on my android browser, but couldn't work out how to get a keyboard :). Will have to return on a desktop machine...

jojohnson1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

great game. but i'd love to have another try ^^

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very fun concept and gameplay, maybe the car is a bit too slidy but pretty fun

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

excellent work. all drivers should play this game before going out during the holiday season. "you arrived 14 seconds late. you enjoyed a nice, albeit _slightly_ cold dinner" - i endangered so many lives for a few precious seconds!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

Road Rage simulator 2013. :D

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

I made the mistake of turning on Ironman mode...I never made it home. Haha, nicely done!

stromchin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:10pm

I didn't make it home for dinner :(
twice
:(

great game though. I loved the h

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Pretty cool idea, and the music is not bad!

Here is an idea - traffic and trees on your way home? Just drive around the forest! (You can drive outside of the screen all the way to victory :-P)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

caranha: Exactly what I found too!
This game is pretty cool...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Perspective wooo!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04pm

RTFM is the word of the day, I played ironman and lost forever. One thing if you do a post LD version, would be fullscreen/scaling. The spacebar/arrows scroll the screen on smaller resolutions, meaning you gotta play @ 75% zoom, or face the wrath of the scrollbar.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:26pm

very nice little game !
but sometimes the snow crushed my browser >.<

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Yeah I know :-( I added many of the snoweffects late during development and had not enough time to optimize them properly for the browser. It's playing smoothly with the downloadable .jar, so you might want to try that instead!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:18pm

You're evil! No dinner for me :'( Nice job on the theme though haha

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Very frustrating to have just one try!! Great! Good job :D

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Shame about only being able to play once - I did clear my browser cache and retry, but I crashed again and couldn't be bothered with that process another time, there's just no fun in it. Otherwise good game I guess (not that I was allowed to see a lot of it!!)

clearlyspam23 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:06am

So if you move enough to the side, you can actually avoid hitting everything, which I don't think is intentional.

Otherwise, quite fun, very challenging!

Yoni says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I didn't get home :(

jomomomo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]