December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Chance

by ming_tea - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, here it is. You need to talk to the kid to get a clue about the perfect gift, then buy it at the store. Use pepper spray on other shoppers that want to take your gifts away. Use pepper spray responsibly!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1516Coolness26%

Comments

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

The controls were too clunky for my liking, you couldnt run and jump at the same time. if you jumped while standing still, you couldnt change direction. Minor issues that would have been sorted out with a proper development. Keep it up :)

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

I enjoyed the pepper spray sound a lot. Didn't quite understand the story, but it was fun to play a bit of!

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

Nice idea, but as Lazdo says, controls really killed it for me. Control responsiveness is one of the most important things for being able to enjoy a platformer at all, so my advice is spend a little more time tightening up the controls next time.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

This kid's not happy with anything I bring him! Pepper spraying people was fun, but I felt like the jumping was a little too difficult.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59am

This game is in low gravity space :-)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

I was unable to jump high enough to reach the platforms with the things to purchase. As said by others, the controls are a bit difficult to work with.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Cool idea and funny writing. The physics are a bit iffy though.

evilDan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Loved this - although I can't quite decide whether I find it funny or depressing. Love the back story.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06pm

nice game good gameplay funny great job

atombrot says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

the theme is very nice chosen. funny graphics. had fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]