December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Set Us Up The Bomb

by scriptorum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one bomb to destroy a base of evil robots. C'mon, we gotta be frugal here.

- The Web version chugs under the strain of big explosions. The desktop versions run much better.
- FYI, the game has no real ending. After level 14 the progression repeats.
- See the source for the usual "I ran out of time so this is what you get" flummery.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#219Humor3.00
#380Theme3.11
#528Innovation2.86
#537Graphics2.86
#600Audio2.30
#603Fun2.71
#710Overall2.75
#817Mood2.26

Comments

Ysty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28am

Great idea. Love the theme song. :)

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I like the game, especially the early levels. The later levels are sort of too easy tho. No matter where you throw the bomb, it'll always cause a big enough chain reaction to satisfy the score requirement.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

good idea, but I don't really like waiting for the planets to align. had fun reaching level 8 tho.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice idea. Would have been a lot better if the explosions were more rewarding and happened in a sort of chain reactiony way. And after level 10 or so it gets really easy to just drop a bomb anywhere and win. Other than that it's pretty great.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Hilarious love it xD

Lizzip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing, but blowing the hell out of everything is such fun. Also that theme song merits top marks

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Great work on the theme song. Its really hard to tell how your explosions will spread or not, though, making the game kind of confusing to play.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The chain reactions were fun, but the random levels hurt it somewhat. It got much easier after the regions were populated an you could drop almost anywhere to blow up lots of stuff.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Thanks for the feedback! I intended to do a lot more mechanically to make later levels more challenging and middle levels a little less trying of your patience, but I was coding right up the last minute. Things like shrapnel, patrol routes, visible damage (cracks on the bunker, sparks from the robots), visible death timer (on fire perhaps), and patrol routes didn't make it in. Daniel is right about the random levels, my original intent was to build the first ten levels and then the rest random, but of course I ran out of time. I do sort of enjoy the crazy explosions of the later levels as a stress reliever. I just love to kill robots.

Jago says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Overall nice game! Like others have said there was a little too much waiting.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nice game but the bomb seemed a bit imprecise.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:18pm

If the bomb drops and doesn't result in a win, you are provided with a new random level. So you know, you really don't have to wait. ;)

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:33pm

reached 3,246.. guess it was the last goal. i must to say, it's soooo good to watch all them exploding, i don't know why... it made me happy.

steamgirl says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Loved the theme song! Too bad the explosion sound effect was choppy - I found the explosions unsatisfying as a result. The concept is quite original though and a good take on the theme! Will you be doing a post-compo version?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]