December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Handy Capped

by Crusable - Jam Entry

The objective of the game is to make the picture on the left match the picture on the right in the time limit(4 minutes). However there is a twist, you must choose one "handy cap" (you only get one). You move the grey square with the arrow keys and when you move the grey square into a coloured tile, they change places. There are a total of 5 10 x 10 pictures that are randomly chosen and jumbled up. There are 4 handy caps:

Shuffle - every 30 seconds the picture shifts to the right by one
Flash Light - you may only see squares that are adjacent to the grey square.
Half Time- you have half the time to complete the picture
Backwards Controls - The controls are reversed

By the way, the game is supposed to run at about 20 fps. Have fun :)

Note: the project was written in C++ with sfml 2.0 on windows 7, so it only works on windows. If you would like to compile it on your mac or linux machine so I can upload it to the site email me at Mathew_bergen(at)yahoo.ca.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#347Innovation(Jam)2.64
#378Humor(Jam)1.94
#410Audio(Jam)2.20
#439Fun(Jam)2.38
#459Theme(Jam)2.19
#470Mood(Jam)2.19
#511Overall(Jam)2.30
#530Graphics(Jam)1.81
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05am

How does it follow the theme? You get only one handicap? It was a fun little thing to try out though. I almost got the 1/2 time one.

Crusable says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21am

Yes that fact that you get one handy cap is how I used the theme. I probably should have explained that a bit more. I didn't want to do something boring like one minute or one day or one bullet. I thought this was a bit more original.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07am

Your idea is something, Everyone is different and everyone has there own idea. Despite that good effort.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32am

It's a original way to deal with the theme. Good job!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:23am

Can't play, on mac

Crusable says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:11pm

It says in the description of the game it will only work on widows.

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I'm not sure that I want to play this game twice. And this is exactly what you mean: "You only get one gameplay before you deadly bore"

Crusable says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:57am

I don't understand "You only get one gameplay before you deadly bore", and what do you mean "And this is exactly what you mean"?

jarnik says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:20am

Brilliant! I tried flashlight and half time, couldn't finish with neither of them, but had lots of fun and thrills :)
Loved the "move by swap" mechanic!

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:35am

If you release the source code, I can at least try to compile this for my platform.

Wine's msvcp110.dll doesn't work, and Microsoft's msvcp110.dll doesn't work either.

jomomomo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:15am

Can't play windows games. :-(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]