December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The One Orb

by JFlegle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The One Orb

Evil has entered our world and the only way to stop is to place the orb on the altar. The problem is you have only one orb and must carry it through the enemy. Good thing you have your fellow Knights with you.

Info:
The Key to select and health are over the heads of the knights.
When a knight dies he resets to the beginning.
The orb carrier will drop the orb where he dies.

Key 1: select orb carrier, can't attack but can hold the orb
Key 2: select knight
Key 3: select Knight
Key 4: select Knight

AD and left right move the camera

Left click on the mouse to move the knight

Tools Used:
Unity3d
Paint.net
MyPaint
Drawing Tablet
BMFont
sfxr
Otomata
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#438Audio2.64
#523Graphics2.88
#557Theme2.76
#668Humor1.87
#717Innovation2.56
#773Mood2.35
#795Overall2.63
#884Fun2.23

Comments

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14am

The level design is a bit boring in my opinion. But i quite like the game mechanic and the animations.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Yes, it is a very nice concept and execution! Like the graphics! With more enemies and such this could be something!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48pm

This is a cool game mechanic, you should really work on expanding it more. The game was a lot more fun when I realized I could control the guys, rather than having to push them. Good job!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Quaint visuals but I found the gameplay to be rather slow. Solid entry though.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I like the idea, but I think it is too slow...

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Very slow controls, but it's a decent concept. Would work better with RTS-like controls, click-dragging to select rightclicking to move, etc.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Nice gamemaking try, and thanks for Otomata!:) I didn't know that music tool:)

mystakin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:36am

I am a huge fan of the "control 4 people at once" idea, especially when the controlled characters play different roles. Unfortunately, for this game specifically, I had the most success by running the orb carrier to the altar alone. There's a great game being set up here, it just needs some tweaking and elaboration.

lubos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I have destroyed all the evil! As already mentioned the gameplay is a bit slow. Other than that I like the concept. I also like animations. Pretty much good job!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:20am

A bit fun, but also slow and a little lacking in depth. If you can find the time to expand on it, expand on it

01rafael says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:16am

They all on LSD, music too!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]