December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Pilot

by alexis.pautrot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-= One Pilot =-

'One Pilot' entry for Ludum Dare 28. Long title : 'You only get one pilot to fight'.

Made with Unity, Inkscape, Photoshop. All resources made during this compo. All sources made during this compo, except the PathFollower2D class, but which had neither custom inspector nor easing.

First real project using Unity (I'm new to it, I've discovered it just one month ago, after v4.3 was released). I like it very very very very much.

Source code provided as is. No time for cleaning. No time for clean resources either (background pixel dithering not finished, sprites transparent aliasing not done).

All materials are copyrighted of course :-)

By Alexis Pautrot, aka Tortuap ( @tortuap ).

If you create great games, contact me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Graphics4.09
#452Overall3.06
#459Fun2.91
#581Mood2.64
#685Humor1.83
#778Theme2.38
#958Innovation1.97
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

No XBOX pad. Not possible to play with keyboard? :(

I want playyyyy. ;_;

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

The game is hard but it is fun. It has also nice graphics. I am impressed. If i want to be picky, the only thing tricky is how you grab coin. I think there is a too small collision box so the grab is a bit strange.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Controls with an xbox pad, Unable to run it =/

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Hot damn, those are some pretty sprites. Enjoyed it, it came out looking very polished (odd for a LD game).
One note; if you think you can get away with it under the 'porting' clause, you might want to add keyboard controls. Not everyone has a XBox controller to hand right away :-)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I've just submitted a new version with Arrows/Ctrl/Space to play with XBox Pad. Sorry, I'm a dumb :-)

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Very nice art! Would be improved with sound, but the game is fun and challenging.

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Great sprites. Liked your game :).
Some things I noticed:
- You can move out of the viewport
- Blue bullets on a blue background are very hard to see

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I like the chalenging aspect of the game. The fact that we can go outside the view (I don't know if it's voluntary :)) can be a nice innovation for a shoot'em up !
Too bad there is no sound, and I can't see any link with the theme (besides the only life, which is a caracteristics of so many shooters).
Anyway, well done.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

thanks !
yes the link with the theme is.. well.. nope. I stood waiting to get a strong concept for 6h, then I decided to just make a game and try to link with the theme at the end.
This is why except in the title there is no real link. That theme is really tough !!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I had some problems with glitch graphics, and its a bit on the tough side

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Your art is amazing. The gameplay is a bit meh but your graphics are solid. Good job!

Thijsku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Hey Alexis. First of all, I love the graphics! It's just a very colourful game and I personally love pixelart. :) The game sure is challenging, so that's good too.

Too bad there isn't any sound. Next time, I'd recommend to download a sound generator program like SFXR. They're very easy to use, and it adds so much to your game. :) As of the music, there are also simple music generators. I used abundant-music in LD28, which turned out to be a pretty good choice.

It's kind of strange that you can fly outside the screen, since you're always safe there.

And last but not least, I miss a little juiciness. By example, you can shake the screen when you're hitting someone, or you can add (exaggerated) particles to the screen. This will hugely improve the experience of playing the game! I'd recommend you to watch this video, which talks a bit about juiciness in a game: http://goo.gl/N7RfKV

Anyway, it's a nice game, especially since it's your first Unity game! Keep up the good work :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

Thank you for adding keyboard controls! :) Beautiful graphics.

Manou says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03am

Beautiful graphics.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Thanks guys for your comments !
@Thijsku : I totally agree with all that you wrote. I hesitated ripping arcade games sounds, but the compo rules are strict :) ! As for the music, I'm just discovering those generators. Will be for the next LD. Thanks for the link, I will look at it right away. I wish I had more time to polish and add more of this juiciness..

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Very interesting video indeed ! I HAVE to make an extended version of my game :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Great Job. I like the enemy designs.

Side Note: Since you used Unity I would suggest making a Linux build. The Web player does not work on Linux boxes.

Zerot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:27pm

great artwork. however the gameplay is a bit lacking. Also the random levels make it so that you occasionally die without being able to do anything because the first wave comes from behind.

2 other small things: the blue projectiles are hard to see and ships can occlude the game over screen hiding the score.

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:28pm

This game is hardcore, but it felt justified. I was like: just once more, only one more - a couple of times. :p
I Only reached 4100p. Would have liked to see a boss.. And i like the variation of the movement for the eneimes. Topnotch grafics!

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Pretty, hard and fun. :)

Strange feeling when the ship disapears out of the screen. :p

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Awesome graphics! A moving background would have fit well here. It's pretty hard, but that's one pilot I guess.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:40pm

nice job, it's a hard game! thank you for the gamepad support. just shake your head at the people who don't have gamepads and move on.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:14am

Thanks again ! I'm glad you like it. I can't polish it until the votes are finished but adding some scrolling, fxs and sounds would be really cool !

csanyk says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:11pm

You don't get score for blowing up enemies, only for picking up the coins? Weird. Tough game. Needs sound!

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:58am

I lost my ship out of frame at first ahah. Neat graphics, I like pixelart.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]