December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Epic Last Bottle Of Milk

by psychomonster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there,
this was my 3rd LuduDare and it was great again. Worked hard, watched tons of ludumdare streamings, read lots of posts and saw awesome pixelart and great ideas. Now here is my finished work so far. Hope you guys had a lot of fun this weekend. I'm looking forward to play as many games as I can. Hope you guys enjoy my game a little. Greatings from Germany, have a nice week and a great X-mas...
Love ya all!

Controls:
==========
Arrow-Key: Navigate
Space-Bar: Roundhouse-KIck (Not deadly)
q : Exit Game

The Story in a few words:
=========================
The very last X-Mas is coming! By X-Mas-Plague infected
People are destroying mankind.But you have to buy milk
for a last epic X-Mas Dinner with your wife and family.

Your Mission: Go to the supermarket, kill the zombies,
buy a bottle of EPIC-MILK, go home and be a good
husband. But be careful... The supermarket is stuffed
with zombies! Take care of your brain!

Hints for Epic-Milk hunting:
============================
- You can be kicked by enemies 2 times each level...
If you will be kicked one more time... you die.

- You have to find the Epic Bottle of Milk. There are boxes
that block your way to the chamber of Milk! To disable a
Box, stuff five apples into it and it will disappear..

- But be careful, zombies don't like it if somebody like
you will steal their apples.

- You can kick the zombies with you roundhouse-Kick ability.
But your roundhouse-kick isn't as powerful as Master Chuck's
Roundhouse-Kick... But it should be enough to stun the Zombies
for a little while (3 Sec's)...

- There are 2 kinds of Zombies so far... The walker, and the
Buke'oid.

-- The Buke'oid is vomitting some skin shreds that have little teeth...
Be careful not to step into that ugly bloody mess.

The Walker is stupid... but if you steal their apples...
to gonna be mad and trying to bite you... If you bring the apples
to a box the walkers will calm down again... No panic!

Now you can go shoppin at this XMas-Zombie-Apocalypse.
Kisses and good night!

USed Tools:
===========
GameMaker Studio Professional
GraphicsGale (free)
Audacity
VLC
Chrome
SFXR
Autotracker.py
Gimp
Photoshop cs3
Winrar
Filezilla

Bugs:
=====
Sound of some monsters are not working :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#173Humor3.14
#275Fun3.21
#291Graphics3.33
#331Overall3.21
#367Audio2.77
#390Mood2.92
#507Innovation2.91
#618Theme2.65

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40am

I really liked the art style and exploration

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40am

Nice FoW implementation, quite difficult, I'd often run into a zombie I couldn't see, cool graphics.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44am

good graphics but controls are a bit punishing

abeing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52am

ha, very funny game with good graphics. Liked the humor much :) but after a while my fingers hurt because of all the walking. also the hard camera movement is a little bit annoying. but overall a really great game!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:54am

All or nothing visibility works nicely. Some situations arose that felt like puzzles, figuring out the safe path down a narrow hallway with the unknown of a possible entrance in the black. I think some more zombie types would up the fun.

Mutt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

Pretty entertaining, almost kind of feels like a rougelike. You should put a gameplay screenshot as your main screenshot, I think more people would take a look. I kind of expected some kind of dumb non-game just from the thumbnail but it was actually one of the better games I've tried.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06am

Thank you for the hint Mutt... I will change it ^^

Yeah 2 more diffrent zombie characters was up in the pipe... but time was up to fast ^^

Thanks for the comments so @ all :D

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:08am

good job! :P

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Awesome game. I don't understand the farting princess. Other than that, really fun and simple game. Played it for quite awhile.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:53pm

The roundhouse kick does not work. But i enjoyed it.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58pm

mortl8324: I think you mean the gas-filled-flesh-zombie... maybe the artwork looks like a princess... haha okay okay... will change that at first when post-polishing will start ^^

Roundhouse kick will not kill a zombie... couse you are not Chuck Norris in this game... the kick will stun a zombie for 3 Seconds ^^... kk should have made some hit indicator... next time ;)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Good graphics, the unmasking of areas as you move is a good idea.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Nice graphics, and also nice game. Liked it pretty much :)

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:32pm

It has a bit of "minigames from the 90's" feeling for me, and I love it. 5 for Mood. Though, I miss procedurally generated random levels, that would fit to this design kinda well!

Also, I love that hidden squares are discovered in my neighbour even if my way is blocked.

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

The game was pretty decent all around, nothing negative to say about it but the controls being a bit poor, having to constantly tap the buttons quickly got a bit tiring.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I really like the way you uncover the fog_of_war.
Good Job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:02pm

If there was a grossest sound effect award this would get it xD, the effect when you step on the white slime is so horrible, did you dribble into the microphone to get that? XD. Fun game overall, the concept was funny, the music got annoying really quickley though. Overall though its pretty awesome!

dudsen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Win only? Bummer. Why does someone need a Mac to compile to OSX from GMS? Too bad :(

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Liked the overall feel, but hated tapping the arrow keys so much.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Win only dudsen... I know... but you are right... strange that i need a mac to create a mac build :( Hey mabe sometimes I buy the linux exporter ^^

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41pm

XMAS-EPIDEMIC xD so funny! Great work! it is very fun :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54am

Really liked the art, and the feeling of exploration. I wish there was a little more visibility to give time to react to the zombies. Nice sense of humour as well :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36am

Like the art!

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:42pm

A nice game you've got here. I liked it enough to try it a couple of times over. But I would have appreciated to know that the round-kicks had any affect on the enemies (other that them hitting them... it was unclear how much I would have to kick to disable or gain anything from it). And what did those apples have to do with the milk? Not that it really mattered. A nice play all in all.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:57pm

local minimum :D thanks for playing. As described in the submission: Apples are needed to to fill the apple boxes... to remove them ^^ I know really abstract ^^ The Roundhouse will not kill a Zombie, cause you are not Chuck Norris ;) It will stun a zombie for 3 Seconds. I see, I have to implement a visual indicator for that stunFX.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:15am

Great game, I had a lot of fun playing it, however, I'd like it more if it was turn-based, like classic roguelikes where enemies move only when you do. It'd be more strategic.

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:00am

Really fun, played it quite a bit :)

erebusman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:40am

Nicely done, great graphics. I wasn't able to figure it out in the end but very smooth game play mechanics and played very much like a rogue-like (I assume your inspiration) good job!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:26pm

The ending screen... :D difficult game, but it's okay. Did you considered to make it totally round-based? Passing through a zombie in a 2 fields wide corridor is like roulette.

Mago says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:04pm

You where right we have very similar idea. You know what they say "great minds think similar " :) As to your game I overall liked it, it required a bit try and error but was fun to play

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:17pm

@Jeremias: hehe found this pixelart at my webspace... It thought it would be a cool idea to put it into a game ^^ Yeah first it should be round based... but this wasnn't funny enough I thought... so I made a little bit faster ^^

@Mano: True man ^^ Thanks for playing dude

netmute says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I have no way of playing Windows games (using a Mac here). Sorry :(

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:00am

No prob man... have no clue why I need a mac to compile that game for OS X...

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:39am

Cool idea, the graphics are nice. Good job !

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:45am

Nice exploration game, I really liked the graphics! The only bad point is the controls, a key repetition would have been great. Anyway, good job, I enjoyed playing your game! :)

Dcandle says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Nice one.

FOW is a nice thing, and the feeling is good.

But i didn't get any clue about how much HP I had left.

greytram says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Really had fun running away from zombies!
Nice graphics and thrilling atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]